Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could do with a refurbish

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Spacious room,Sea view is excellent,just across the road,with having wall to wall,floor to ceiling window, although it would have been better if cleaned
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Noy=ttingham

Noisy and hot room

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. No lounge to sit and read. The outlook at reception wasdismal carpark with dustbind and rubbish. Awful place.
Location: Just the promenade or the cinema. Theatre booked solid when it was on.
Arrived on Sunday night and had a real problem parking. The room was looking out onto the air-conditioning units and the carpark. Tried tio change the room but the hotel was full. Terrible nights sleep The hotel was smelling of food all over. Only buffet meals in the restaurant and bar meals in the bar. Very expensive breakfast so eat out for half the price. The best bit of the holiday was the flight out of IOM.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria UK

I have stayed in nicer

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good. Complimentary toiletries also good. Staff very good.
Cons: Bed uncomfortable, could do with new mattress. Room far too warm and heating unable to be turned down far enough for comfort.
Entered the hotel to a nice pleasant welcome , I was directed to my room and I found the room clean but very basic, I thought it would have been much nicer for its rating and the rates charged. The room overlooked the car park and there was activity until 2.30 am cars and taxis in and out , and one night there was some one causing a nuisance at 2.30 am, with the attendance of three police cars , then the delivery trucks started at 6am! I would rather pay less and be at the rear of an hotel and get a good nights sleep. I realise it was MGP week a very busy time for hotels but I will be booking earlier next year, but not here !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brigg

A good bet

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Large comfortable room, great sea view. Good big bed and all clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln uk

Good position close to all amenities

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Relaxing
Cons: Bed mattress
Easy parking a bit expensive to say you are stopping in the hotel The bar and restaurant was nice and relaxing prices for the food and bar was very resnabl The matreas on the bed could be lmproved all the springs made a different tune when you moved But all in all a very good stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Casino

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Old style Hotel Casino in a location feaujring a long walk to the attractions of Douglas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Revisiting IOM for first time in more than 20 year

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Hotel right on the front, served by the traditional horse drawn and local buses. and close to the Electric Railway which goes to Laxey and Ramsey.
The hotel is not architecturally very pleasing. A 'barrack block' design contains a good 3 star hotel and a row of shops. Contained within the htel element, but totally separate, is the small Casino and a Chinese restaurant. The rooms on 5 floors overlook either the car park and hill behind it or the sea. We had a splendid room over the sea with an excellent panaramic view of the sea. Staff were excellent at all times, from Mark in reception to Tom in the dining room and all the chamber maids, we could only find things to praise. The restaurant food was well selected, cooked and served, largely at a carvery, but with one or two specials cooked to order. The food in the chinese restaurant was good if rather unexciting standard british version Chinese but nicely prepared and served. The prices for meals in all outlets, including the bar, was very reasonably priced. Over 5 days we tried all the restaurants and were never less than very satisfied. The ovrall state of decoration was good although a few small things could be improved, such as carpet joints in corridors. Additionally, the windows were filthy outside! We thoroughly enjoyed our short sentimental journey and would encourage any people seeking a quiet and unhurried holiday to look fist at the Isle of Man and , in particular, at the Best Western Palace Hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Stay somewhere else

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: It is just past its sell-by date.
Location: Much too far from other attractions
"Standard" room was small with uncomfortable beds and a very dated shower which we had to be shown how to operate ("it happens all the time" said the cleaner) . It is a very long way out of town and when we asked about restaurants close by we were told there was only one, a Taj Mahal.. This is not true. There are about 6 of which 2 were very good. The builders started work at 7am. Don't think of staying in a non sea- side room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Good holiday staff excellent Sunday brunch highly recommended Could do with air conditioning in bedrooms we had window open and was noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Hotel and casino on a main oceanfront street

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Room was well-kept, clean and comfortable
Cons: Food quality for breakfast and specifically, allowing a la carte orders instead of only a buffet.
Location: Not sure, there are likely many outdoor activities, weather permitting,especially biking. Excellent seafood restaurant in town called The Boatyard
An older property, but the room was fine, the bed comfortable, the view good, and the bathroom and shower were excellent. . (OTOH, the breakfast buffet did not look like something I would eat. However, there were shops less than a block or so away to pick up packaged foods and pretty decent oranges. I did eat in the bar for sandwiches which were okay and the service was very good.) Basically, a decent stay