Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming upgraded motel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Loved the breakfast cafe , porch and hot tub ... I will be back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakeside, MI

Clean and compact place in Douglas

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location - just outside Douglas and a quick drive to Saugatuck.
Cons: Nothing - it's a great place to stay.
Location: Douglas and Saugatuck are home to many cottages, hotels, and B&Bs. There are beaches to visit, and restaurants, bars, and all sorts of shopping.
We booked our room during the week so that we would avoid the tourist crowd. The place was empty. We were greeted by a friendly chap who checked us in, explained the perks of the place, gave us breakfast chits at a nearby restaurant, and wished us a good stay. That we had. We were located in an area that was close to Oval Beach, the large public beach, as well as shops, restaurants and parks in Douglas and Saugatuck. If you are in the area, make sure that you stay at the Blue Star Motel and enjoy your visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Cons: Sound proofing - we could hear the TV in the next room all night. The AC was close to the bed and was a little uncomfortable.
Tiny room but stocked with conveniences including a frig and microwave. Excellent room rates. Enjoyed other features such as a private rear porch and hot tub on a beautiful lawn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
This hotel is very cute, and I loved the backyard amenities. Downsides are small rooms and thin walls. I could hear my neighbor's movie playing loudly until 1am. Bathroom is a bit shabby but it was all clean and functional. Staff were incredibly friendly. In all, this place did the job just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More than we expected......

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The rooms are very clean and the entire place is kept up very well. We would consider staying there again on our next trip.
Cons: Our only complaint was the rooms are very small.
Location: Very near to Holland Michigan for the Tulip Festival.
Was in Michigan for Tulip Festival. Hotel minutes from downtown Douglas. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are small but well appointed and kept up. Based on the cost it was well worth the money to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleaaant Ridge, Mi

They thought of everything!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Centrally located but quiet and relaxing. Clever and attractive rooms. Great use if space with customer-focused amenities. A cut above any other motel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Muncie, IN

Great place to stay for one or two people.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Clean and new looking.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: We just stayed in the motel for a family gathering. We did not enjoy the immediate area.
The room was small but adequate for up to two people. It was clean and the staff was very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Ok place if other places are booked

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Being small and quaint it reminded me of a simpler time. I do mean that in a good way.
Cons: I would say a king bed but they couldn't fit one in.
Pulling into the Motel, 10 or 12 rooms, no pool, small hot tub around back that you have to take the cover off to use, small rooms. If you want breakfast they give you a ticket for the restaurant next door. When we arrived (about 3pm) there was nobody in the lobby, we had to wait about 10 minutes for the manager to arrive. You aren't getting a great deal on the money side of it either. They're not gouging you, but for a queen bed in a small room with no real facilities it was overpriced. The motel is right on the road, if you go around back where is hot tub is you could look at some trees, beyond that nothing going on. Lastly their was nobody around, after we were checked in, that's it, didn't see anyone in the office after that. We didn't need anything thankfully, but if you did need anything motel related you were waiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Motel with Hotel Amenities

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: The amenities and price
Cons: They could use a good ventilation system in the rooms.
Location: Beach, Crane's Apple Orchards, Antique shops
Blue Star redefines the word "motel". It has modern calming décor and offers the upscale hotel amenities such as snacks, bottled water, coffee microwave and fridge. It also offers an lush green area in the backyard with a hot tub and gathering space on a nice wooden deck. On the patio are sturdy wooden beach chairs to sip your coffee, read or just enjoy the quiet of nature. I would recommend this to anyone who is visiting the Douglas/Saugatuk area and will revisit again. They also offer free or discounted hot breakfast in the mornings, which you will fall in love with the little lady who mans the place like a beast and provides excellent service and good food. My only regret is that I totally forgot they served dinner and missed trying the saganaki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a nice quiet hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Nice vibe, quiet atmosphere.
This hotel is an old school 'drive up to the door' motel and there is nothing glamorous about it. Having said that, it has a funky vibe and is decorated nice and is exactly what you would expect from a place in this class. It is clean and close to downtown Saugatuck/Douglas. My wife and I had a pleasant stay and would return.