Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming upgraded motel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Loved the breakfast cafe , porch and hot tub ... I will be back again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakeside, MI

Clean and compact place in Douglas

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location - just outside Douglas and a quick drive to Saugatuck.
Cons: Nothing - it's a great place to stay.
Location: Douglas and Saugatuck are home to many cottages, hotels, and B&Bs. There are beaches to visit, and restaurants, bars, and all sorts of shopping.
We booked our room during the week so that we would avoid the tourist crowd. The place was empty. We were greeted by a friendly chap who checked us in, explained the perks of the place, gave us breakfast chits at a nearby restaurant, and wished us a good stay. That we had. We were located in an area that was close to Oval Beach, the large public beach, as well as shops, restaurants and parks in Douglas and Saugatuck. If you are in the area, make sure that you stay at the Blue Star Motel and enjoy your visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Cons: Sound proofing - we could hear the TV in the next room all night. The AC was close to the bed and was a little uncomfortable.
Tiny room but stocked with conveniences including a frig and microwave. Excellent room rates. Enjoyed other features such as a private rear porch and hot tub on a beautiful lawn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
This hotel is very cute, and I loved the backyard amenities. Downsides are small rooms and thin walls. I could hear my neighbor's movie playing loudly until 1am. Bathroom is a bit shabby but it was all clean and functional. Staff were incredibly friendly. In all, this place did the job just fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty Good

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
You can tell they try. It's an old motel but with upgrades. The room was a lot smaller than I thought it would be. Bathroom had mold. The furniture was pretty dated. The bed was comfortable. However, the AC was right next to the bed. Had to block it somewhat so I didn't get cold air blowing at me at night. The wifi was in room and strong. Lcd tv and luxury bedding.
1 out of 5
by Dennis from St Louis

I would not go back

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room was extremely small to the point of being uncomfortable. The bathroom was small and very inconvenient. The air-conditioning unit was very loud and because of the size of the room, it was literally 3 feet from my ear...I was not able to sleep. Although very clean, this was a horrible night's accommodation.
5 out of 5
by Tracy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by William from Detroit

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay, smaller rooms but extremely efficient and attractive!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tulip Time!

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight stay was great for Tulip Festival. However breakfast didn't start until 8:00 at cafe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More than we expected......

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The rooms are very clean and the entire place is kept up very well. We would consider staying there again on our next trip.
Cons: Our only complaint was the rooms are very small.
Location: Very near to Holland Michigan for the Tulip Festival.
Was in Michigan for Tulip Festival. Hotel minutes from downtown Douglas. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are small but well appointed and kept up. Based on the cost it was well worth the money to stay there.