Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More than we expected......

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The rooms are very clean and the entire place is kept up very well. We would consider staying there again on our next trip.
Cons: Our only complaint was the rooms are very small.
Location: Very near to Holland Michigan for the Tulip Festival.
Was in Michigan for Tulip Festival. Hotel minutes from downtown Douglas. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are small but well appointed and kept up. Based on the cost it was well worth the money to stay there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, bed was small and a bit uncomfortable, hot tub was nice, overall nice hotel
3 out of 5
by Michael from Lansing, MI

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
We just stayed one night. No one was on site to check us in - we had to call someone to let us into our room. He was at their sister property down the street and was there in about 5 minutes, so no big deal. Room was small but had everything we needed. Fridge had bottled water and a few snacks, which was a nice touch. Room was clean and comfortable but a little pricey for the size and the area.
5 out of 5
by Larry from New Lisbon, Wisconsin

I liked staying here.

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Cool boutique hotel, tastefully decorated, clean, and comfortable. Would definitely re-book on another visit.
3 out of 5
by Melissa S. from South Bend, IN

ok for the money

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Ice maker was not working and hot tube was not working. Had to go to the store to get ice-store is very close. Also, was planning on using the hot tube and it was not working.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pleaaant Ridge, Mi

They thought of everything!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Centrally located but quiet and relaxing. Clever and attractive rooms. Great use if space with customer-focused amenities. A cut above any other motel.
5 out of 5
by Amanda C.

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Orbitz
While it's not a super fancy place to stay, it's clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are a little worn, but more than serviceable. I very much enjoyed the free water and snacks and the manager was so friendly. The breakfast at M&M was also wonderful good food, nice atmosphere, friendly people. I would definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muncie, IN

Great place to stay for one or two people.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Clean and new looking.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: We just stayed in the motel for a family gathering. We did not enjoy the immediate area.
The room was small but adequate for up to two people. It was clean and the staff was very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Ok place if other places are booked

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Being small and quaint it reminded me of a simpler time. I do mean that in a good way.
Cons: I would say a king bed but they couldn't fit one in.
Pulling into the Motel, 10 or 12 rooms, no pool, small hot tub around back that you have to take the cover off to use, small rooms. If you want breakfast they give you a ticket for the restaurant next door. When we arrived (about 3pm) there was nobody in the lobby, we had to wait about 10 minutes for the manager to arrive. You aren't getting a great deal on the money side of it either. They're not gouging you, but for a queen bed in a small room with no real facilities it was overpriced. The motel is right on the road, if you go around back where is hot tub is you could look at some trees, beyond that nothing going on. Lastly their was nobody around, after we were checked in, that's it, didn't see anyone in the office after that. We didn't need anything thankfully, but if you did need anything motel related you were waiting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel with Hotel Amenities

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: The amenities and price
Cons: They could use a good ventilation system in the rooms.
Location: Beach, Crane's Apple Orchards, Antique shops
Blue Star redefines the word "motel". It has modern calming décor and offers the upscale hotel amenities such as snacks, bottled water, coffee microwave and fridge. It also offers an lush green area in the backyard with a hot tub and gathering space on a nice wooden deck. On the patio are sturdy wooden beach chairs to sip your coffee, read or just enjoy the quiet of nature. I would recommend this to anyone who is visiting the Douglas/Saugatuk area and will revisit again. They also offer free or discounted hot breakfast in the mornings, which you will fall in love with the little lady who mans the place like a beast and provides excellent service and good food. My only regret is that I totally forgot they served dinner and missed trying the saganaki.