Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Small rooms, overall a bit tired, good location

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Location and good breakfast
Cons: Reception staff lack professionalism. Hotel bedrooms, breakfast room, lift and corridors are all a bit tired. The gym and spa looked unused for years
Location: Central promenade location so 10-15 mins to shops and offices
Small room where decor and furniture all a bit tired and drab. Shower was clean. Hotel overall just looks a bit tired. Bar area has a great view. Breakfast room generally a bit tired too but the cooked breakfast was good enough. Central location on the seafront at Douglas and perhaps the sea view rooms are better than those at the back. Varied professionalism across the staff with the reception being a little lacklustre and the breakfast team being good. For its size and the price, it should be better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Good location, good value, perfect for Fawlty fans

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Pros: Reminded me of Fawlty Towers.
Cons: Teach the staff not to enter rooms unannounced.
Location: Walk the beach, get a bus pass and visit the other small towns.
A classic old-style hotel centrally located on the beach in Douglas. Short walk to the shopping precinct, and an excellent Indian restaurant just behind the hotel. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming, but I have to mark them down for barging into my room at 8.30 am on a Sunday morning, spoiling a much-needed sleep in. How about counting to 10 after you knock?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

small room , one towel in room , rude staff , yuck

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: nothing the thai place down the street was epic
Cons: proper staff training for the hospitality indusry , refraining from insulting dietary needs of guests , refraining from personal insults.
Location: i caught a cab to a better hotel , unfortunately i didn't book them via expedia.
I stayed in hotels 145 nights during this trip and this is the only one i walked out of , i can handle a small room , i can handle the poor quality in your overly washed bedding in towels and i can even deal with signs that you cleaning staff takes to many shortcuts. but i won't stay in a place that insults myself nor my guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surprise az

Close to everything

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Nice hotel thats close to the beach and all the shops. Friendly staff. Great view from the hotel lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Being "Old Folks" we found the steps a problem.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
The lift was small and in great demand but our serious difficulties were with luggage. Otherwise we had no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Ideal hotel and reception were excellent. It was a business short stay for the charity event that evening. Highly recommended. John Lamb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uckfield, Sussex

Room With a View

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, close to town centre, sea view, reasonable cost
Cons: Lifts could be quicker
Location: Cose to town centre
Ensure that you get an upgrade room - for only a small additional cost per night I got an L-shaped room (with ample desk space for business use) - being twice the size of the room initially offered (paid for). The upgraded room also had sea view so definitely worth it. Good value for money overall. Would recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wakefield

good position with good views from the reception

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The food a nd staff
Location: Electric and steam railways
The hotel was very nice in the reception area, clean and spacious. The carpets were in need of updating . OUR room was small with a bad view of nothing outside at the back of the hotel. Not entirely cleaned well. HOWEVER THE bathroom was very clean. The tea and drink fa lites were adequate breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Close to the tow a d transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surbiton

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Fantastic break fast included staff helpful on horse tram route
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Good location in the middle of the promenade.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Lovely looking Hotel. The foyer and the conservatory on the front are great places to relax. Convenient for the buses and the wonderful historic transport links that Douglas has to offer.