Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel it was in the area we required to stay

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The staff and the atmosphere created by them . It was a proper family hotel and you were made to feel at home.
All the staff were excellent and the food first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph, Ontario, Canada

The best place to stay in Doune

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Location: The hotel is right off the main road, so it's a convenient hub for exploring the area. Doune Castle is a 2 minute drive (or 12 minute walk) away.
I had nothing but a pleasant experience during my stay at the Woodside. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the bar/restaurant was cozy with a decent menu, and the room was comfortable and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great stopover on the way to the Highlands.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were perfect, beyond helpful and welcoming: they were charming and friendly while being exquisitely correct. We enjoyed breakfast too!
Location: A walk to Doune Castle alongside the river was enchanting. We enjoyed the visit to the distillery in Deanston nearby too.
I would stay here again without hesitating. The room (for three) was suitably spacious. Good new, modern bathroom. Good quality bed linen and towels, all very clean. It is a period building with single glazing and functional , eclectic decor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Welcome and service very good.Food also very good. Overall appearence shabby but with some lovely antiques.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trenton, Ontario

Bathroom window painted shut (lack of aeration)

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Good location; great and friendly staff; good kitchen menu
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Would go back and recommend the Woodside

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by ANDREW from BOLTON

WILL COME BACK AGAIN

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
VERY VERY GOOD FOOD HERE THE BEST HONEY ROAST CHICKEN I EVER HAD. BREAKFAST ALSO VERY GOOD 10/10 FOR FOOD. VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY BUT A WORD OF WARNING MAKE SURE YOUR ROOM IS NOT OVER THE TOP OF ANY BIRTHDAY PARTY AS MUSIC WAS VERY MUCH A PAIN IF I HAD KNOWN BEFORE HAND I WOULD HAVE GONE CLOSE BY BUT KNOWING HOW GOOD FOOD WAS WOULD STILL HAVE CALLED IN. OTHER THAN THAT GREAT PLACE TO STAY
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland, UK

Fawlty Towers

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly, responsive and attentive but obviously overworked.
Cons: Complete coat of paint and general refurbishment, it's looking rather sad and neglected.
Location: Location is fine, pretty village and Dunblane nearby is nice.
Whilst it might not have been the hotel's fault, we where given a twin room rather than the double we ordered. The beds were pushed together but only single duvets supplied, not very useful. The hotel is definitely understaffed, we couldn't make a reservation when we rang as the member of staff answering the phone was also making breakfast. Overall, the decor was old, faded and the whole building needs a refurbishment.
4 out of 5
by George from Peterhead

A homely stopover near Stirling

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal for visiting Stirling and close to Blair Drummond Safari Park. Good homely food both in the evening and at breakfast. Pleasant and helpful staff. Hotel requires a bit of upgrading.