Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in a very nice town

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Room was wonderful and parking is very good and all staff encountered very helpful. Only problem appears to be at management level.
Cons: Hotel guests should have the ability to book dinner in the Hotel Dining room up to at least 3:30PM or should be warned that advance booking is require
Hotel is very difficult to access as we had trouble with the co-ordinates. We went up and down the highway trying to find access. Found only when we asked a local restaurant owner about how to find the hotel and his wife kindly offered to lead us to the hotel in her car. Disappointed that at check-in at 1:00PM to find that it was impossible to make a reservation for dinner that evening. They did recommend a very nice restaurant about 300 feet from the hotel. Also surprised to find that hotel had closed the pool the week before our visit on September 20th, although the 20th was mid 20C, but a maid kindly found us some pads for chairs and some towels and we were able to sit by pool, which is lovely. Would suggest a solar blanket or heater for the pool to extend season to at least end of September.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

elegant hotel in a lovely spot

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: decor, quietness, setting and location, colourful, elegant place
Location: Amarante a nice town not too far from Porto and Douro Valley for wine tours
My family of 6 booked this gorgeous historic manor hotel for a great price on Expedia.ca in Amarante, Portugal because we wanted to try the Michelin starred restaurant there, Largo do Paco, which was an interesting experience--they had very creative presentation of innovative food, and best dessert courses ever. A little expensive for Portugal but a fun dinner for a nice treat. Hotel was truly lovely, calm, quiet, historically faithful with gorgeous antiques and colourful spaces and the breakfast was superb. Casa da Calcada is a Relais and Chateau property so has high standards to maintain. It was very nice and we did enjoy our stay, however I did not feel it was miles better than other pousadas or nice hotels I have stayed at in Portugal during this trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from marinho

Nice hotel but old

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The staff is amazing; really great service, but the hotel needs an update. Rooms are spacious and the restaurant is great. The city is really small and too far from Porto. No gym, but a nice ecovia for walking and running close to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Finland

It can not get better than this!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The entire package, see my earlier comments.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: He hotel is as central as it can get. Walk around the old town and enjoy!
Previous reviewers have probably covered everything, so I'll just add some things that comes to my mind. We were upgraded to a wonderful room, the service is amazing and very friendly, the hotel with the michelin star restaurant, big pool area, great terrace, wonderful small rooms and libraries, the entire castle-like building at the river - amazing! There was a big festival when we arrived, so I called the hotel and said I am not allowed to drive to the hotel (roads closed) - so they offered to meet us wherever we park, get us and the luggage to the hotel - and drive our car to the hotel when possible! And if you went to, say, France to a hotel like this you would probably be spending 5x compares to Casa de Calcada. We actually liked it so much that after we visited the Douro area we came back to this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from London

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Great hotel with excellent staff who could not have been more helpful.You must try the restaurant which was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fruit farmer from Canada

5 star hotel, great service

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: All good
Cons: Nothing
Location: quiet town with a few shops and restaurants, 45 minutes to Porto
Very good restaurant, well appointed, great staff, all we expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lil' Hesk from Manchester UK

Elegant and Comfortable

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Stunning setting, beautiful grounds out of this world food. Luxurious bedrooms, classically styled public areas. This hotel is truly difficult to beat. We only stayed 2 nights as we've been travelling around Portugal, wish it could have been longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracy from London

Beautiful hotel in the most beautiful location....

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: I don't believe there is anything that could be improved on.
Location: Quiet location, small village with coffee shops and an amazing tapas restaurant! The owner was so welcoming and helpful and the food was fantastic.
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and the whole experience, from start to finish, was wonderful! The hotel is beautiful and the staff were so attentive and helpful. Our room was amazing, we had a beautiful view of the River. Breakfast was fantastic and the service impeccable. Amarante is a small but wonderful town, very picturesque. We hired a car and drove to the town of Porto twice, which again, is the most beautiful town. We will most definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria from London

Fabulous hotel with wonderful views over the river

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Everything, especially (see above) the open air swimming pool and the parks around it ... on the 4th floor! Spectacular sights...
Cons: N/A
Location: Amarante is lovely in itself, but for us it meant a convenient and central place to travel to other fantastic areas nearby.
We spent two glorious days at this hotel and loved it, of course. Perhaps the most memorable part of it is the entire 4th floor with its open air swimming pool and marvellous gardens: unforgettable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good hotel

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: the patio - it get afternoon sun and the high tea was lovely.
Cons: nothing
Location: in a little town that has a few very interesting shops. The bus stop is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and its worth going into Porto for a day
Room was lovely, staff were very friendly and attentive, food was superb. Would defenitly go again.