Ratings based on 685 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malvern

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Just one night with evening meal but a very pleasant one. Great stop off for the ferry. Will come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derbyshire

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Lovely comfortable stay wished I was staying longer and very good value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Lovely sea view room overlooking port in distance Able to watch the ferries arrive and leave. Room in need of renovation which looks to be happening but overall v comfortable. Good breakfast. Would come back. V close to castle and bracing walk on beach outside next morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Good getaway hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Handy to town and beach A bit noisy with current renovations and harbour works but otherwise a pleasant spot
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Absolutely Awful

Posted Oct 9, 2017
We stayed for one night - I can't say enough bad stuff about this experience. The hotel lobby is deceiviny nice - once you get to the rooms (through incredibly slow lifts and extremely narrow hallways), all the floors are horrifically crooked and squeak and "give" enough to make you wonder if the whole thing might cave (I am a pretty tiny person!) our room was so crooked that we put a glass on the carpeted floor and it literally rolled into the center of the room. The edge of the desk compared to the mirror edge hanging above it (which was having level), had about a 2" difference from one end to the next...like we are talking SCAREY crooked. The bed was rock hard, had cheap linens, and the carpet was filthy, and the room smelled musty. The bathroom was in extremely poor repair so much so that we needed showers but we're too grossed out to use the shower. The faucet and toilet cause loud horrible noises, the crack under the door makes for loud hallway noise, and the fact that it's in a canyon marina meant early wake up call by the deafeningly loud noise of rocks and drills banging together in the morning (echoing each time). It was thankfully a short walk to a restaurant where we bought a bottle of wine which we finished just so we could fall asleep in that nasty room. Absolutely awful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra Australia

Good hotel in great location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
The hotel staff were extremely helpful and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is old (as evidence by its slightly sloping floor which adds to its character but the rooms are well maintained. LIke most hotels this age the rooms are small but comfortable. For those not use to small UK hotels, there is no air conditioning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2017
We had booked 2 rooms, but only ended using one. The one room had a fishy smell to it. The hotel still charged us 1/2 room rate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dundee

En route to France

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Bar area
Cons: Complete refurbishment
Room awful, as was bathroom. Small, cramped and in dire need of refurbishment
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Part of History in this Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
You can feel the history in all corners of this hotel. Amazing Diningroom and nicely appointed rooms. Add to that a great view and beach front location and one could spend days here very comfortably.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Position fabulous but rooms disappointing

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Its position was excellent and the staff were lovely and very helpful.
Cons: I realise it is a historic building but water pressure, cooling and a refrigerator would help.
Location: Plenty to see and do - castles, lighthouses, beaches, Canterbury, a ferry to France.
I chose this hotel because it was close to the swimmers' beach and I was there for a Channel Swim. In that sense it was perfect - very close. The staff were lovely and the service excellent, but they are stuck with a "historic" building which means a lot of compromises. This includes floors that are not level and tiny rooms without air conditioning. Our room was on the top floor and was very hot, even with the window wedged open to the extent allowed. The water pressure in the shower was miserable - I'm told it is better on lower floors. There was no ability to have a refrigerator in the room, which would at least have allowed us to have a few cool drinks handy! All up, I would probably choose to stay elsewhere and drive to the beach if I had known the condition of the hotel.