Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Apopka, Florida

Expedia hotel screw-up

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The hotel and the staff were wonderful. They worked diligently to make our stay a good one since Expedia messed up our reservations.
Cons: Nothing as far as MainStay Suites. Everything about the hotel itself was wonderful.
Location: Nice place.
When we got to the hotel we were told that there were "NO" reservations for Brannock and Myers. Luckily we had printed paperwork from Expedia and brought it with us. Mainstay luckily had 2 rooms available and it was their last 2 rooms. Again we will never book a trip with Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Margaret, Thanks for taking the time to complete our online survey. Your feedback is very important to us. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you during this stay and apologize for any inconvenience you were caused during your check-in process. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, Sandy Caloway General Manager
3 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Sep 19, 2017
5 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

Smoking Room when Requested Non-Smoking

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: one of the better affordable hotel in the area, clean with good Wi-Fy and friendly staff, Pet Friendly witch is a plus for me, not close but good.
Cons: improve the Hotels and booking on line with Expedia, they are not in sync
Location: I come here once a year for the Amish bike tour and spend the weekend and dinning at some of the great restaurants in the area, love coming here.
booked a non-smoking room two months in advance and a friend booked his room two weeks later he was given a non-smoking room I got a smoking room, the hotel was completely booked, they tell me that the mistake was a Expedia mistake but Expedia say its the Hotels mistake my friend switched with me and I was told by him that the room was oder was terrible, I felt guilty with accepting the switch, do I have to reconfirm my booking with the Hotel after booking with Expedia?
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Hi Carlos, I am sorry that you were not happy with your room. I am unable to tell if we only had smoking rooms available when you booked your room, but sometimes we do have rooms become available due to cancellations that might not have been available when you booked. In the future, please feel free to contact our hotel directly after you make a reservation and confirm what room type they booked for you. Sincerely, Sandy Caloway General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oak Ridge, NJ

Disgustingly Filthy

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location is convenient to many things in Dover, but there are many other hotels in the area that I am sure are much cleaner
Awful hotel stay from beginning to end. Staff completely rude and unhelpful. Arrived earlier then check in time, assumed room wouldn't be ready yet, but wanted to let them know we were in the area so they could call in case it became ready. Front desk clerk barely acknowledged me while talking to her friend/coworker with a response of "yeah, sure". We went to lunch and then to the Air Mobility command museum. No surprise, but no call ever came. Went back to hotel around 4pm and checked in. We get to the room, and as soon as we walk in we can tell how disgusting this room is. Smells awful and almost moldy even. First section we walk into is the kitchen area and all of our shoes were sticking to the floor. We put our bags down on the desk (no chance I was placing anything on the floor) and walked further into the room. Carpet was filthy and stained all over. The couch literally looked like it was picked up off the street after a house flood or something. My son was supposed to be sleeping on the sofa bed, but no chance I was going to open that couch up. We had to lay 2 sets of sheers on top of the couch before I would even let anyone sit on it. Everything was just disgusting. I went back to the front desk to inform them and the only response I received was, "we are booked, we have no other rooms". No sorry, no offer to come look and clean it better or anything. What a disgrace this experience was and we will absolutely never stay here again.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aging Hotel, but OK. Nice staff

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Room interiors, curb appeal, everything needs painted and kept up.
Location: Location is ok for military families with the base nearby. Beach is an hour away.
Hotel is aging. Paint is peeling from walls and carpet needs replaced. Doors do not always lock and some outside doors stay unlocked 24/7. Pool door jammed. Staff very understanding and showed us how to 'football tackle' the door open. (get low, use all your weight and push! no door card key needed) Our room had a clear and unmistakable water leak mark and patch on the ceiling in the shape of a tub from the room above us. Looks like it was painted over at one time, but the hotel is aging and needs repainted from top to bottom, inside and out. The kitchenette was nice, full fridge, micro, 2 burner stove, all utensils, pots, pans and glassware. Kitchenette also had a small dishwasher, which was very nice. Hotel provided breakfast and it was surprisingly good every morning. The staff make this hotel work. Though, each staff have their children behind the desk and in the guest lobby every night, regardless of who is working, their kids are around. This made it more of a family run hotel, than a chain hotel. We stayed with what we thought was a discounted price from Expedia. We feel that we still paid thirty dollars per night to much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the casino

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Room wasn't clean carpet had big stain, room could use a painting.
5 out of 5
by Veronica

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was great. My room was clean and comfortable. Lousy customer service when checking out. I gather the front desk clerk was multi tasking.... prepping breakfast. He didn't acknowledge guests checking out, just act as if we were in his way. A few of us just left the room card keys on the desk.
4 out of 5
by Denise

Worth a Visit

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Good location for us, near Dover AFB and Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge. Breakfast was good, room was clean, staff was exceptional. My only issue was that there is no seating provided outside for smokers. It seems like a small and inexpensive way for the hotel to make us feel more welcome.
3 out of 5
by Desiree

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
While it was relatively clean the decor could really use an update, there were viable stains on the carpet but the staff was very friendly .