Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not sure if we'll return

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
The check in attendant wasn't very pleasant. He was borderline rude. The room has actually improved since we stayed there a while ago. Unfortunately we had problems flushing the commode & getting hot water. We arrived after midnight from another state tired & check out was 11:00am so we tried to call for a later check out but the phone didn't work so my husband walked down the stairs to the lobby to ask for a later check out & he gave us 11: 30 geesh all we wanted was 12 noon. Needless to say it wasn't our best experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks again for letting us know.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Better breakfast--install the waffle machine that many of the other Super8 hotels have. Make it so people want to come back.
We specifically selected a Super8 Hotel based on our experiences at others and particularly seek it out due to not only its cleanliness and budget price but also because of its free breakfast to get us started for the day and its 24 hour available coffee. It seems its "traditional" breakfast of make-your-own waffles, yogurt, and fresh fruit is not so traditional. We thought all of their locations had the same which had been our experience so far but this one really skimped. When you come to expect something as in that is what Super8 stands for and it is not there, you hurt the entire chain name in my opinion. Also, it made you feel as if this place wasn't as clean as the first thing you saw when you turned your sheet was the hole in it! This place is amongst many other hotels nearby, and it was clear that others sought out a different hotel for their overnight needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks again for letting us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The tub was not clean lamps didn't work nowhere to hang your clothes
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Super 8, Hotel Management
We apologize for the inconvenience, We will work hard to solve the problem.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Ghetto hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Between the holes in the wall, dirty linens, and the non working phone (which they said they had to cut off because too many people were making drug deals on)... it was probably one of the worst hotel experiences ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks again for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Good location but that's it!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Good location but that's it! Deadbolt didn't work so flimsy chain was the only way to lock the door, toilet ran all night, marks and smudges on walls, outlets that didn't work. Find a different place to stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Super 8, Hotel Management
We apologize for the inconvenience. We will take a look at the room and we will solve it as soon as possible
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Old, Super Dirty not Super 8

Posted Jun 28, 2017
In town for a lax tourney and everything was booked. This was our last resort or drive home 2.5 hours and back the next day. It was ok for a quick bites rest but that's it. Place was super old and dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Super 8, Hotel Management
We apologize for the inconvenience. We will work to solve the problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Motel is dirty, weeds growing everywhere, door to the room didn't shut properly, water temp adjustment in the shower didn't work properly, toilet kept running, unsavory characters hanging out in the parking lot all the time. Unexpected damage deposit required at check in - that's a first, especially given the condition of the property. Would not recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks again for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by Sharon

Super 8 Flop

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are in need of updating. Cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Billed my card three times for same room. Front Desk Clerk didn't understand how to check me in stood 30 minutes trying to be checked in. . Had to wait a week for refund to go back on my card.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We’re sorry you were unhappy and you had to wait longer for the checking in due to the system was slow that time. And I apologize for that. We’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks again for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by Stephanie

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
This was the worst experience I've ever had in a hotel. The front desk gave a key for my room to a stranger midway through my stay. Fortunately it was a nice young lady who didn't bother us after realizing she was given a key to the wrong room. Furthering, when I went to speak to the front desk about the situation, they denied giving her the key- about 5 minutes into the convo, the staff admitted they did in fact give her the key without checking her ID, but they assumed it was fine because the lady had given them my name. I asked what my name was, for the sake of argument, because during the entire situation I hadn't said my name. The staff had no response, and said that I should know my own name... really frightening that they don't check ID's and just give keys to anyone asking. There were multiple people passed out and / or talking to themselves in the parking lot each night of my stay. I found hair and blood in the second bed. It really couldn't get any worse.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017
We apologize for the inconvenience. The lady was not a stranger, she was from the guest's room and we also asked her to confirm the guest's name to check whether it matches in the system and the name which she told was matching and we also checked the ID.