Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not too bad....

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Furniture is old, fridge was broken and the carpet could be replaced, very poor breakfast.
Location: Near to the mall area.
ok overall... Furniture is old, fridge was broken and the carpet could be replaced, very poor breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

A two star hotel at a three star price

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: the vicinity to some decent shops was ok. The check in was fast, the parking was decent.
Cons: The rooms need work if you want to keep the prices at that level. Otherwise lower the price to the 40-50 $ level where they belong.
Location: Decent newish shopping
The hotel clerk is stationed behind bullet resistant glass. You can tell this isn't the best neighborhood. The price I paid was about 100$, but honestly this hotel is about a 40-50 $ hotel. 100 $ is far too expensive. I was forced to stay here because I was in a bind. This is a 2 star hotel at 3 star prices. The bed sheets and pillows were obviously unwashed. They smelled old and used. This is obviously an old building, very similar to a run down motel 6, but they've poorly attempted to improve it by painting the rooms and adding TV's that are around 10 years old. The carpet was torn and dirty. The tile in the bathroom and grout were moldy. The AC worked very poorly. When they painted the walls they didn't bother masking anything off and there is paint all over the carpet, the bass boards are painted fully, they painted onto the wall sockets. It's an OK place to stay if you are hurting for somewhere to crash, but the price is outrageous for what you get. For 100$ I expect a clean, well maintained room. This was rather sad.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The room was cold, no blankets. Other than that it was ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, Ca

Decent Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
It was nice, had actual windows so you could get fresh air. Staff was poliet and helpful. Complimntary breakfast consited of muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, juices and coffee.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The hotel is not good as it is descried here. It doesn't deserve the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Employees attitude must change

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We stayed for a week, we found a good deal online and each night cost us around 70 bucks. The hotel is in average condition, breakfast is a joke, big enough TV, freedge without freezer, good mictowave, working air conditioner, comfortable beds, small bathroom so some big fellas will have hard time to enter, bedding has to be replaced cause we found holes and spots on ours. I had to interact with staff few times, each time they showed no interest to resolve the issues. At the end, when I tried to book an extra night, they charged me full price even on their site they had a 15% off promotion going. Staff has to change their attitude towards customers for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Comfortable!!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Its a safe place to stay at, Staff was really helpful specially the cleaning lady and the front desk
Cons: the lock and spider webs in bathroom
Location: Downey Studio Inn...Walmart is right infront of it and its very beneficiary especially when it rains! Universal studios was only 30 mins away.
Staff and over all experience was great. The room did need a few things like the bathroom door didn't lock there were a few spider webs. one of the beds had a torn stained sheet. However besides all the minor details its a really good comfortable hotel to stay at.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and rundown

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel served our purpose of a last minute stay due to issues in our home. Definitely not worth the price of $100 plus. It needs major upgrades everywhere. The carpet was old and very stained, the bathtub is peeling a layer in the tub, shower curtain rod is rusty, sink doesn't not drain in a normal fashion, pillows are old and lumpy. The walls are thin all around. You can hear the folks upstairs talking and the neighbor kids crying in the middle of the night. The other negative reviews posted are legit. I wasn't expecting extravagant, but just basic and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice and very comfortable hotel!!!

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: its really clean, rooms are very spacious.
Cons: everything was just perfect!
Location: location was great!!! museums are close by, and other entertainment as well.
Its a very nice hotel, very comfortable, and staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Cons: Smell
It was a nice experience just the smell of cigarette was bad.