Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
A very friendly little hotel suspended in time. The staff was great and the food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Small town close to King's Lyn.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Very good atmosphere and had free car parking available.
Cons: NIl
Location: Close to roads to King's Lyn and the coast road around the top of Norfolk. Close to the Thursford Collection Museum and access to the Norfolk Broards.
Very pleasant pub with very comfortable beds and good dining facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle upon tyne

In centre of town a good location

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: How friendly the staff were nothing
Cons: Nothing hotel was spot on I would use the hotel again tow
Location: Town centre close to shops and lots to see .
Food was very good so was the staff very friendly .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Rooms dated in need of some updating,clean enough though.staff friendly enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good central location

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Central location. Public areas very nice. Excellent breakfast. Staff very welcoming.
Cons: The room needed a little updating
A warm welcome, staff very friendly. An excellent breakfast in a very nice dining room. The bedroom was a little tired looking. I felt new pillows would be a good idea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T. from New Zealand.

A lovely, historic hotel.

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: I liked everything from the photographs and quirky sayings on the walls and ceiling of the bar, to the friendliness of all the staff.
Location: The hotel is very central. As we were only there for one night I can only say that there are a couple of pubs nearby!
My brother and his mate from Australia and myself from New Zealand stayed at the Castle Hotel on October 28th, 2013. We were flying home the next day and wanted to visit a relative who lived nearby. The staff were extremely helpful when we tried to get a taxi (although none were available). Everybody was friendly and made our short stay very enjoyable. A highlight for me might seem silly to others but I can only eat bacon when it's really crispy so don't usually ask for it for breakfast but I was assured it could be done and it was!! Little things like that will not be forgotten!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CL from Cambs

Overall an pretty acceptable stay.

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: Good sized comfortable room!
Cons: The fact that the evening meal was served with differing accompaniments not described on the menu, with no explanation as to why!
Overall an acceptable and comfortable stay. Room was a decent size and comfortable too. Slight disappointment in that the evening meal was served not as described on the menu and yet another table ordering the same dish were served as described on the menu! If I order something I want what it says on the menu not something completely different unless an explanation is given at point of order ad to why I can't have what the menu says, which did not happen in this case. This is just a minor hiccup and would not prevent me from staying again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Should have been better.

Posted Jun 26, 2012
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: The mattresses needed replacing
Location: Very central in Downham Market and although on a busy street was very quiet in our room.
The beds were not very comfortable - the mattresses seemed to be very old spring mattresses that were lumpy and dug into you when you were lying down. We did have a reasonable sleep but it was not the most comfortable. The hotel was the most expensive we stayed in so should have been better. The toilet seat was not attached to the seat on both sides so sitting on it was a bit precarious to sit on. The toilet flush was a bit temperamental. These things took the shine off the visit. However the staff were friendly, the breakfast nice and the place very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R & A from Milton Keynes

Very comfortable

Posted Jun 26, 2012
One particular young lady who seemed to be waitress, barmaid and receptionist was most helpful and made our stay relaxed and enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK

Exceptional hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2012
Pros: Room
Location: Ideal
We really enjoyed our stay. The hospitality, service and room were just perfect.