Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Severn. MD

Great for the price

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The hotel and staff were fine. A little old but clean and fulfilling it's function...
Cons: Update the amenities and more security... any visible security would measures would be a real good start.
Location: Very little... but quick access back onto the highway.
Great stay over night on the way to destination. Area is depressed and somewhat desolate. Most of the stores closed and aged if open at all. Need to ensure all items are secured because the hotel will not take responsibility for your car and it's contents ... this sign over the front of the door does not instill confidence in the security of the location as everything dark and closed up in the area does not make for a comfortable and confident stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly managed, with bad attitude

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Terrible experience here, do not recommend! Keep on driving. I pre-booked a room for my 19-year-old college student who was driving from California to Texas, we prepaid and pre-arranged. He was turned away by the manager stating he was under age, despite specific arrangements being made. I called from out of state and asked the manager what arrangements could be made. I spoke with Rachel and she was just awful, uncaring and very sarcastic. It's a shame, especially coming from the manager. She told me I wasn't going to find a hotel in Albuquerque that would let 19-year-old check-in. Nice thing to say to a mom who is calling from out of state trying to help her son find a room. Candlewood is not family-friendly. If you value customer service, surely you will find better practically anywhere else. By the way, Best Bestern not too far from there gladly welcomes college students.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

HIGH CRIME AREA

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Parked by front door and had my window smashed with no valuables in car. Hotel staff could careless. They claimed to have chased off the vandals but didn't notify me or call authorities. I found out in the morning. Stay away from this place.
3 out of 5
by M Elizabeth

No complaints

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
The room was fine. Nice to have a large fridge, stove top, dishes, etc. Large desk area but no rack for luggage. Poor wi-fi reception.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Rachel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not too bad.

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok. Didn't care for the dirt on the tile of the shower. Other than that it was adequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Rachel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had cleanliness issues in your shower. We are working to retrain all housekeeping staff. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Enjoyed my stay, would have liked if both rooms had air conditioning, but overall the rooms were comfortable and the proximity to shops and restaurants were great
5 out of 5
by Marcus W

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Rachel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sun Lakes, AZ

Great Bargain

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Up to date room. Reasonable rate.
Location: Close to Rudy's barbecue and a sports bar (but not walking distance)
What a treat. The room was very clean, comfortable, and attractive. It is conveniently close to the interstate. The staff was very professional and helpful. A great bargain. We're looking forward to staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Decent

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Room size
Cons: Cleaning
Location: shopping, restaurants
Older facilities, moderately maintained. Room was fairly clean, I think could have been better, they need to do a better job of cleaning and maintaining the halls.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Rachel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We are working to retrain all staff to ensure we do not have this occur in the future. We hope to see you again.