Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Noisy but nice

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Train station proximity is great but makes it noisy too. Great cookies given to guests. Continental breakfast protocol was a bit confusing. Polite staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great price

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Hotel served it's purpose but was right next to train station with whistles blowing every hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice hotel, great location, awesome staff

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, staff
Cons: The living room TV didn't work. Not a huge deal for us since we were only there one night, but they might want to look into that.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Anchorage Grand. We only had one night in town (coming off a cruise), and after the tiny ship cabin, we loved having a huge suite with full kitchen. We were able to easily walk around downtown and to the coastal trail. The staff also let my entire family (none of whom were staying at the hotel) store their luggage there all afternoon, which I'm sure was a hassle. I did think that it was a little pricey, but it was on par with pretty much every other hotel we researched in Anchorage in the summer. Overall we'd definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Pearl, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Disappointing stay at Anchorage Grand

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The kitchen was functional and they had housekeeping every day of the stay which was great.
Cons: Have a portable air conditioner in the bedroom so that guests can close the windows and keep the train horn noise to the minimum.
Location: Location is great except for the noise from the railroad
We stayed 6 nights at Anchorage Grand in two stints of 3 nights during our recent Alaska vacation. The suite had a kitchen, a living area and a small bedroom. The bathroom was claustrophobic and was very small. Disappointing for the price that I paid. Another big disadvantage is that this hotel is right next to Alaska Rail road with busy trains crossing and honking the horn all through the night. Since there was no air conditioning, we had to keep the window open. But we could not sleep well with all the loud horns from the trains all through the night. If you have to choose this hotel for other reasons, ask for a room towards the street. Our room during the first stint of stay at this place was towards the street and train horns weren't as loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice hotel close to downtown but noisy

Posted Aug 5, 2017
This is a very nice hotel close to downtown. The staff was nice and helpful. My only complaint is that it is located close to the railroad and the trains were very noisy. Otherwise it is a very pleasant place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by pearl, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Very close to train station.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The hotel was very clean and conveniently close to the train station and restaurants. Staff was very nice. Was funny that they had heaters but no AC. Rooms were very warm so we were told to open our windows and turn on the portable fan. Guess that's summer in Alaska, lol. Only down side for me is they did not have a single ADA room. (Guess that's because they are an older building.) Which made using the bathroom inconvenient for me as I could not enter with my power chair and my husband had to help me get up from the toilet because it was too low. Luckily we travel with a shower bench that disassembles. They did have a ramp off to the side for me to enter the building and a small elevator to get to the upper floors. To be fair, I highly recommend this hotel for able bodied people but not someone with a disability.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Pearl, Hotel Management
We want to say "thank you" for your recent stay with us. We know you have many hotels to choose from, and very much appreciate that you chose the Anchorage Grand. We hope you were comfortable, and felt that the hotel value offered met or exceeded your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big room and comfortable bed.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Surprising big room for the price we paid. Very nice and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with Room and Staff!!!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Not much, it had decent blackout curtains; they had basic amenities in the room/kitchenette; the room layout was nice, and the beds weren't terrible.
Cons: WOW, where to start: Staff training on customer service and courtesy; linens were stained, yuck; it backs up to the train depot and was SO LOUD!!!
Location: It is near the railroad station and is close to the downtown area, so everything is within walking distance of downtown. Shops and restaurants galore.
My experience with this hotel is simple: disappointing and pathetic for what was a wonderful trip overall. The staff, the lack of cleanliness, and the trains are the main problems with this hotel. The staff are cold, impersonal, unfriendly, and definitely not well-informed on their own policies. They DO NOT do a great job of relaying information to guests, that's for sure. The train station is literally backed up to this hotel, and the trains are SUPER LOUD early in the morning and late into the evening as you're trying to sleep. This doesn't make for a good thing while trying to relax on vacation. Our linens were very stained and dirty. We had to ask for replacements of everything from towels to sheets and even pillows...yuck! My final disappointment was regarding a charge we received over a parking pass policy that was never relayed to us at all during our stay. We were charged $95 for a monthly parking pass, even though we only stayed 6 days. We left the pass in our rental car w/o returning it, but weren't told EVER upon check-in or check-out that the pass needed to be returned to them. We received a message from the hotel to call them about it when we landed at home. I called immediately to which I was told I'd receive a call back. No one ever called back. The following day, I noticed we'd already been charged. A manager named Pearl told me basically there wasn't anything they could do, and really coldly, TOO BAD! I've never been treated this way, unreasonable! Pathetic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Not as good as it sounds

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Room was big and it is a suite.
Cons: better staff training. have a little choice of breakfast even there is no dining space.
Location: there is nothing around the hotel. It is close to the railroad station and is loud at times during the night and early morning
The hotel front desk is downstairs and not always available. Room was smelly (guess someone smoked in it). The staff was not very professional (did not know it was paid through Expedia already). Parking is down the street in public outdoor parking lot not connected with the hotel. Breakfast was just better than nothing, a bag was delivered to the room with no choice and not really continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great location

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Really great location. The hotel staff were so helpful :) we arrived early and they helped us find restaurants and parking. They held our bags until our room was ready. Great wifi!