Ratings based on 877 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Motel 6 compare. No free breakfast

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Just stayed one night. Carpet was crusty in room and they informed us when we checked in that there was no free continental breakfast during the summer. Overpriced for what was included. Would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location & Free parking.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Service. Staff and Location.
Cons: Update the rooms and better towels.
Location: Downtown bars are close and restaurants as well
Not a bad place, a little dated but conveniently located to downtown Anchorage. I would advise against using the 10% discount at the cafe across the street - worst place I've ever eaten in all my travels. Service and staff are excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to downtown. Great breakfast.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Delicious breakfast and very close to downtown. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was pk

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The room was ok but the carpet needs a good carpet was because it's pretty dirty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Well located, shuttle service.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The best thing about this place was that they provided a free shuttle to the railroad station and the airport. The rooms were not very well insulated so you could hear other people during the night. Also the plug that the hair dryer went into did not work at all. They provide coffee but no breakfast. The shuttle to the train station ran hourly and had a limited capacity, so if you did not make that shuttle because there were too many people, you could be in trouble.The location was good, within walking distance to several stores downtown if you don't mind walking several blocks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit,Mi

Decent hotel downtownAnchorage

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Close to shopping and good access to touring the city by car. Reasonably priced compared to other nearby hotels.
I booked this hotel for 2 reasons, free parking and free breakfast. I was very disappointed to find out the free breakfast was a $3.00 voucher for a restaurant across the street. I knew about the across the street thing but was disappointed with not getting a full breakfast. The restaurant was good, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Most of the staff was very helpful & friendly.
Cons: Christine!
Location: We used Alaska Tour & Travel for an 8 hr Turnagain Arm tour & it was fantastic! A small family owned company we weren't rushed at any of the stops.
I took one point off for hotel staff because of one employee. Her name was Christine & she was there the morning we checked out & was very rude. We were told by the evening staff to be in the lobby for our transfer to the train station at 0530 hrs with a departure time of 0545. Others we told the same. She insisted that we were supposed to have been there at 0515 hours & when I asked if we were going to be able to make the train, her answer was that should could call a taxi for us. Very surly. Otherwise, our pick up at the airport at 0200 hrs, as well as our trip to the train at 0545 hrs, was done by Joseph, I'm pretty sure that was his name, it's been a week, was very nice. He was extremely courteous as well as the rest of the staff. The room was clean, the rest of the hotel staff was helpful, & I'd stay there again if in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Downtown Anchorage hotel near homeless drunks

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: The smell in the room.
Yes, this hotel has a shuttle to and from the airport; while they will pick you up promptly they don't inform you upon check-in that the ride back to the airport is on the hour, not when you need it. The room smelled and there were hairs in the bathroom. A dump for the price we paid. Furthermore, it is located in a part of Anchorage that has a lot of drunken, homeless people walking around and lurking in doorways. Not a good area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Why we stayed

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Location was the reason we chose the property.
Cons: Towels could be improved.
Location: Spent most of the time away at events, only walked to downtown a couple of times.
We had events north and south of Anchorage. This property was in the middle between the two locations. Price was ok, as we weren't looking for an expensive place to stay. This was convenient to walking in downtown, easy parking, and access to needed highways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Tammy Wanner, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found out location convenient. I do apologize if you felt our towels was less than pleasant. We will make sure to speak with the GuestHouse brand to make corrections with the product. We hope this will not deter you for giving us another chance on your next visit to Anchorage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: More and better parking.
Location: The hotel was about four blocks from downtown Anchorage.
The location was convenient and the price was reasonable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Tammy Wanner, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us at the GuestHouse Anchorage Inn! I am so excited to hear that the location of our hotel was perfect for your needs, and that everything was easy and within walking distance! Free parking is available in any of our four lots --- one in out courtyard, two behind the Hotel and another across the street of the Hotel. Additional training will be provided to the staff. I am sorry this information was not provided to your upon check in. I hope we can see you again during your next visit to Anchorage!