Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in town

Posted Sep 17, 2017
A lovely place! Very helpful staff! Wonderful location to city tours, bike rentals, good restaurants. Only complaint there is a bit of outside noise overnight but it would not stop me from staying there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Terri, Hotel Management
Thank you Julie for the 5 star rating! We are glad you enjoyed our central location and found our staff helpful! We look forward to hosting you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augusta, GA

Centrally located downtown Anchorage

Posted Sep 5, 2017
This is a restored, older hotel that has some of the quirks you might expect. Our room was a little small, but was kept immaculate. The stars of the hotel are the front desk staff, who take a personal interest in their customers. They made a couple of restaurant reservations, without turning a hair, and would ask us how we had enjoyed our time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Terri, Hotel Management
Dear Tom Thank you for staying with us! We love our guests! And yes, we do take personal interest in making memories of Alaska special for everyone. We look forward to hosting you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayman

Nice hotel, best location in downtown Anchorage

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Stayed for a night, great location, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Attractive common areas, personable and professional staff
Cons: Bathrooms a bit dated - with almost no shelf space for toiletries Breakfast was very limited in selections for the room rate/hotel class
Location: Location excellent - close to good dining, arts, the river and train depot
Stayed at the Historic Anchorage Hotel for two nights, prior to taking to Seward to meet Alaskan cruise ship. Good location, attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Perfect

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Great place to experience Anchorage.Was travelling with my daughter and she loved it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Staff was excellent. Cute and convenient to shopping and restaurants.
Cons: No air conditioning. Hot and stuffy, large fans in room helped. Street was noise was terrible but they do provide white noise machines in rooms
Location: Lots of great restaurants nearby, Saks cafe has the best halibut. Also close to farmers market on weekends which was fun and had lots of good food.
We were there on a weekend so maybe not as much noise during the week but it was so noisy in the street below we could not sleep all night. It was also hot in the room but leaving windows open wasn't really an option due to street noise. A good fan is provided to help circulate air. We did get our room moved to a less noisy room thanks to the GREAT staff there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Terri, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you found "the staff is GREAT" and that you enjoyed our fantastic downtown location! We are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In order to stay listed we are investigating the newest & latest AC units that will not change the face of the building. Thanks again! All the best, Terri
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Demopolis, AL

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The location, comfort, cleanliness, breakfast and staff made it great.
Cons: Air Conditioning, but our room was comfortable with the fan....We realize air conditioning isn't in most homes and hotels in Alaska though.
Location: The location was perfect for restaurants, the weekend market, viewing salmon, and the tourist information center.
The Historic Anchorage hotel had character, was clean with comfortable beds and linens, clean and had everything we needed for a couple of days in Anchorage. The staff couldn't have been any nicer or more helpful. The breakfast buffet was the perfect start to our days. It was perfect for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Cellest, Hotel Management
Thank you Linda for staying with us! We are glad you enoyed your stay here at the Historic Anchorage Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience for the AC, it is uncommon to have AC here and July is usually our warmest month. We hope to see you again, soon! Best Regards, Cellest Bulfa Front Desk Associate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with character.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
We spent 2 nights here before driving to Seward so we could see a bit of Anchorage. The hotel was surprisingly comfortable considering its age and we would stay here again. The only negative was the noise level early in the morning. I wasn't sure if it was the housecleaning staff or someone else but there was quite a bit of thumping and what sounded like door slamming between 5:00 and 6:00 am, then it quit. Bed was quite comfortable and the hotel was close to activities we were interested in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Cellest, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enoyed your stay here at the Historic Anchorage Hotel. We apologize for the noise inconvenience, it may have been guests leaving for an early train. We hope to see you again, soon! Best Regards, Cellest Bulfa Front Desk Associate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

old but quaint hotel.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: location.
Cons: shuttle bus to airport would be cool, but taxi is only 20 bucks so not a huge thing.
Location: close to everything, bars, restaurants, train station, tony Knowles coastal trail,
friendly staff. haunted? close to everything downtown. short walk to train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Terri, Hotel Management
Dear Kurt Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff. We look forward to hosting you again! Terri
2 out of 5
by Olivia

I will never stay here again!

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
The room is ok! There's no AC in the room! The worst night that I have ever spent in a hotel ! It is HOT in the room in MAY!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you for staying with us & writing a review. We are glad you found our room to be OK. Our hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and we are unable to change the face of the building with the typical motel AC units. With technology always changing, we are looking forward to a "new age" self contained air conditioning unit that will fit in our rooms. We appreciate your comments. On the few warm days we have had this summer, we have trained our housekeeping staff to close the black out drapes. This tends to keep the room cooler. Again, thank you. T