Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in town

Posted Sep 17, 2017
A lovely place! Very helpful staff! Wonderful location to city tours, bike rentals, good restaurants. Only complaint there is a bit of outside noise overnight but it would not stop me from staying there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Terri, Hotel Management
Thank you Julie for the 5 star rating! We are glad you enjoyed our central location and found our staff helpful! We look forward to hosting you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augusta, GA

Centrally located downtown Anchorage

Posted Sep 5, 2017
This is a restored, older hotel that has some of the quirks you might expect. Our room was a little small, but was kept immaculate. The stars of the hotel are the front desk staff, who take a personal interest in their customers. They made a couple of restaurant reservations, without turning a hair, and would ask us how we had enjoyed our time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Terri, Hotel Management
Dear Tom Thank you for staying with us! We love our guests! And yes, we do take personal interest in making memories of Alaska special for everyone. We look forward to hosting you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayman

Nice hotel, best location in downtown Anchorage

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Stayed for a night, great location, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Attractive common areas, personable and professional staff
Cons: Bathrooms a bit dated - with almost no shelf space for toiletries Breakfast was very limited in selections for the room rate/hotel class
Location: Location excellent - close to good dining, arts, the river and train depot
Stayed at the Historic Anchorage Hotel for two nights, prior to taking to Seward to meet Alaskan cruise ship. Good location, attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Perfect

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Great place to experience Anchorage.Was travelling with my daughter and she loved it.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Acceptable old hotel in convenient location

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Surprised that there was no a/c in the hotel, although there was a fan in the room and the windows opened, so acceptably cool enough at night in July. Weren't in the room to experience it in the day. Short walking distance to everything we wanted to see in Anchorage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our central location within walking distance to everything downtown. Anchorage temperature in the summer ranges between 51 - 68 degrees. With the windows open and the Casablance fans on the rooms stay cool. Thank you for the review we look forward to hosting you again. Warm regards, Terri
4 out of 5
by Jerri

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Well kept hotel built 1932. Our stay was limited due to early early morning departure. People working there were friendly and most helpful. We would have preferred the room to be a bit larger. Can't beat the central location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Staff was excellent. Cute and convenient to shopping and restaurants.
Cons: No air conditioning. Hot and stuffy, large fans in room helped. Street was noise was terrible but they do provide white noise machines in rooms
Location: Lots of great restaurants nearby, Saks cafe has the best halibut. Also close to farmers market on weekends which was fun and had lots of good food.
We were there on a weekend so maybe not as much noise during the week but it was so noisy in the street below we could not sleep all night. It was also hot in the room but leaving windows open wasn't really an option due to street noise. A good fan is provided to help circulate air. We did get our room moved to a less noisy room thanks to the GREAT staff there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Terri, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you found "the staff is GREAT" and that you enjoyed our fantastic downtown location! We are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In order to stay listed we are investigating the newest & latest AC units that will not change the face of the building. Thanks again! All the best, Terri
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Demopolis, AL

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The location, comfort, cleanliness, breakfast and staff made it great.
Cons: Air Conditioning, but our room was comfortable with the fan....We realize air conditioning isn't in most homes and hotels in Alaska though.
Location: The location was perfect for restaurants, the weekend market, viewing salmon, and the tourist information center.
The Historic Anchorage hotel had character, was clean with comfortable beds and linens, clean and had everything we needed for a couple of days in Anchorage. The staff couldn't have been any nicer or more helpful. The breakfast buffet was the perfect start to our days. It was perfect for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Cellest, Hotel Management
Thank you Linda for staying with us! We are glad you enoyed your stay here at the Historic Anchorage Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience for the AC, it is uncommon to have AC here and July is usually our warmest month. We hope to see you again, soon! Best Regards, Cellest Bulfa Front Desk Associate
4 out of 5
by carroll

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you so much for your feedback we hope to see you again in the future.