Ratings based on 2,139 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Excellent staff. Excellent stay!

Posted Nov 1, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights. The staff was more than accommodating. They were helpful and friendly. Theodore at the front desk was very kind and helped with any and all inquiries. Charles at the hotel bar was friendly and attentive. The duck confit sliders at the restaurant the "Coatroom" were out of this world (I had them two days in a row). My compliments to the chef and kitchen staff. When we return to Atlanta we will be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great room, friendly helpful staff.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We enjoyed everything. The only bad thing was the name of the hotel changed the day before we checked in and no one notified us. We had trouble finding the hotel because we were looking for The Double Tree and the name had changed to The American. There should have been an email or something sent with the information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Friendly staff and recently renovated rooms

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The staff are very friendly and eager to serve. The rooms are recently renovated and the overall theme is retro American.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa, fl

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Love location and the hotel was beautiful even though going through remodel. Very comfortable rooms. Only wish the bar/restaurant was open later as we went to a Thursday night concert and everything was closed when we returned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Close to restaurants

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Great location. Walking distance to a lot of places like Hard rock cafe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need a new Operations Manager

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Valet took 45 minutes. Check-in was 1 hour and 45 miles minutes behind. It's a great hotel, if you can get checked in, though.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
It was second time staying here a month apart. All staff was super kind but one who took cared of my check in. Both of time I have stayed here, She never crack a smile once and she had an attitude of JUST NO, I am the boss although I begged for a different room but she was like hell no. Treating customer book via expedia different from hilton website booked guests and she said it straight in those words. The other staffs had to convince her. Everything else was great. Thanks for expending the free wifi service in the room finally!
3 out of 5
by Daniel

I'll pass on my next trip

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Dingy and dated
4 out of 5
by Cassandra

Good hotel, great location

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
The doubletree was great except for one issue. Our room temperature never got below 76 degrees, even though we had it set to 68. It was a little too warm. We only stayed one night, so I did not see the need to complain. I did notify the front desk when checking out, so hopefully the AC is working better now. Otherwise, this hotel is the perfect location for concerts and other downtown Atlanta attractions. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Nice place responsive staff

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Too Notch property and staff. We ran into some maintenance issues, though. No hot water in our room, so we had to pack back up and move. Second room had a sliding bathroom door that would not easily open after being closed and we had to help the kids get out of the bathroom. The staff was very responsive and handle it all well. We did not mention the 2nd issue until check out as we did not want to have to live again. We will be back though.