Ratings based on 1,736 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stolen Diamond Cross Necklace

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Upon returning home and unpacking I noticed my Diamond Cross necklace valued at $1,500.00 that I purposely hid in my luggage was no longer there I called the hotel to report it and was and still being treated horribly. I've never spoken to so many dishonest and unprofessional people in one place from the Managers down to the front desk staff. It was upsetting enough knowing that someone went through my things and stole something that was dear to me, but nothing tops how the staff has talked to and treated me during this process. I will NEVER STAY AT THE ELLIS HOTEL OR RECOMMEND IT!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting me know about this incident. This is the first I have heard regarding it. I will try to contact you by phone to further discuss and get more information from you regarding this claim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CT

Fine hospitality

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Staff at the hotel were all very helpful and welcoming. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. The in-hotel restaurant served excellent food, and snacks at happy hour were tasty. The hotel was centrally located, which getting around very easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. We are so very glad you thought our staff was helpful and welcoming and that we had excellent food. Our entire Team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future as our valued guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

The Ellis Hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2018
Absolutely wonderful location and hotel. The staff is so courtesy and the valet was excellent. Super clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. We were so very glad to hear you felt that our staff was excellent and that we had a wonderful location and Hotel. Our entire Team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future as our valued guest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Nice staff. Comfortable room. Good lighting and mirrors. $35 Valet is a tad much but expected downtown. Bartender was good guy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 Star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. I was so very glad to hear you felt we had a nice staff and comfortable rooms. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future as our valued guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location downtown

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: location, room service
Cons: n/a
Location: great restaurants and things to do
had a wonderful stay, great customer service from all of the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 Star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. I was so very glad to hear you felt we have a great restaurant and great customer service.Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future as our valued guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon SK Canada

Perfect Locaion

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Pros: The Ellis is a quaint historical hotel, we appreciate that. Rooms are cozy, lovely clean towels and friendly professional staff.
Cons: A mini fridge would be nice, but not necessary. You’re doing a great job!
Location: Wonderful location! MARTA across the street as is the streetcar. Walking distance to the aquarium(wonderful experience), the Coca-Cola Centre, CNN,
The Ellis is a perfect location for transportation convenience. Located in the centre of fantastic sight seeing opportunities, within walking distance! The staff are incredible, very friendly and professional. When you step through the door the staff greets you, offering if they can help or do we need anything or ‘how was you your day’? The staff are very knowledgeable regarding and directions or questions we had. The Bistro offers a lovely breakfast buffet, fun happy hour and everything in between. Once again the staff are so friendly and enjoyable to visit with. It was our first visit to Atlanta, The Ellis is #1 on our return visits. Lynn and Gary, Canada
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 Star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. I was so very glad to hear you felt that we are a quaint historical hotel with cozy rooms, a friendly professional staff with great food offerings. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future as our valued guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Nice boutique hotel in a great area. My flight was cancelled and the airport was a mess. The bed was very comfortable and a nice reprieve from the chaos of my travels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. Our entire staff looks forward to welcoming you back in the future as our valued guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Posted Jan 18, 2018
The hotel is very beautiful and classy. I would stay here again and again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. Our entire staff looks forward to welcoming you back in the future as our valued guest!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: The room.
Cons: Restaurant.
Location: Crappy restereants in the area as well only sports bars.
The hotel was comforatable and had a nice room. Front desk pleasent and easy. I apprciated that there was a resterant in the building, but for the price all of my meals where disappointing. The wait staff in the resterant just brought out the food missing items that was in the ontray's descrition yet expected all to pay full price. The worst combination was ordering fish tacos and the waiter brought two bland tacos barley filled with fish having no flavor. The side veggie paried with it on the plate was green beans and North American wild rice with butter on. What? If you order tacos that are $17 would you not expect pinto beans or black beans with lettus, tamatos and spanish rice vs the odd match served. Wait staff did not queston anything and simply brought out blaming that they where out of things. Who runs out of lettus on tomatos? Anywhere you stay in downtown Atlanta feels as the people do not want tourist of any kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back in the future as our valued guest!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not worth it

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Our room was extremely small. The walls were so thin you could literally hear every word your neighbor was saying. The water was lukewarm so you couldn’t get a hot shower. The staff in the lobby were friendly but the “restaurant” staff were very slow (it took an hour for my husband to get a burger and fries). It wasn’t a terrible experience but I was expecting more for the price we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
I'm so sorry for your poor experience at our hotel. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with our management team to work on immediate improvements. We take pride in providing the best accommodations and service so our lapses during your stay are being taken very seriously. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies.