Ratings based on 1,721 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Nice boutique hotel in a great area. My flight was cancelled and the airport was a mess. The bed was very comfortable and a nice reprieve from the chaos of my travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Posted Jan 18, 2018
The hotel is very beautiful and classy. I would stay here again and again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: The room.
Cons: Restaurant.
Location: Crappy restereants in the area as well only sports bars.
The hotel was comforatable and had a nice room. Front desk pleasent and easy. I apprciated that there was a resterant in the building, but for the price all of my meals where disappointing. The wait staff in the resterant just brought out the food missing items that was in the ontray's descrition yet expected all to pay full price. The worst combination was ordering fish tacos and the waiter brought two bland tacos barley filled with fish having no flavor. The side veggie paried with it on the plate was green beans and North American wild rice with butter on. What? If you order tacos that are $17 would you not expect pinto beans or black beans with lettus, tamatos and spanish rice vs the odd match served. Wait staff did not queston anything and simply brought out blaming that they where out of things. Who runs out of lettus on tomatos? Anywhere you stay in downtown Atlanta feels as the people do not want tourist of any kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review from your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back in the future as our valued guest!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not worth it

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Our room was extremely small. The walls were so thin you could literally hear every word your neighbor was saying. The water was lukewarm so you couldn’t get a hot shower. The staff in the lobby were friendly but the “restaurant” staff were very slow (it took an hour for my husband to get a burger and fries). It wasn’t a terrible experience but I was expecting more for the price we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
I'm so sorry for your poor experience at our hotel. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with our management team to work on immediate improvements. We take pride in providing the best accommodations and service so our lapses during your stay are being taken very seriously. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shoreview, MN

Very Comfortable

Posted Dec 28, 2017
The lobby was inviting and the front desk staff friendly, helpful and professional. The room was clean and comfortable. Location was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 Star review of your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. I was so very glad to hear you thought our lobby was inviting , rooms clean and comfortable, and staff friendly and helpful !The entire staff looks forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again as our valued guest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel close to the Mercedes

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Convenience and the price.
Cons: The staff at the restaurant being more responsive and courteous.
Location: Riding trolley to parts of the CNN plaza and Mercedes dome.
The hotel was convenient to get around with the trolley car pick up and drop off just across the street. The only issue was the small restaurant. Tried to eat there after the football game around 9:00 pm. The staff was not very friendly and did not have a list for a table. Just sit and wait. The staff never approached us for a drink even when we went to stand at the bar. Ended up going somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark. Your feedback provides us with the valuable information we need to improve the guest experience. We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Great hotel central location fantastic staff very nice rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel and your 5 Star review. So very happy to hear you feel our hotel is great, centrally located with a fantastic staff! Our team truly looks forward to another chance to welcome you back again as our valued guest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east tenn

Not a bad choice when staying in atl

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Fair pricing, but remember, if you've got a car, your going to have to park it. Watch out for overpriced parking garages!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 Star review of your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. The entire staff looks forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again as our valued guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Great, check in personnel "Nicole" was very personable & professional...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
So very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Ellis Hotel. Nicole is one of our very best! We look forward to your return as our valued guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from augusta GA

Posted Dec 16, 2017
It was a nice place. Very convenient location for the activities I was doing in Atlanta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 Star rating from you stay at the Ellis Hotel. We all truly look forward to you future return as our valued guest!