Ratings based on 2,261 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston,tx

Optimal hotel for downtown fun

Posted Aug 21, 2017
2nd time to Austin, loved this hotel. Walking distance to 6th street strip. Starbucks in lobby. Awesome staff, and lobby facilities. Went with a group of 12 people= 6 rooms. We arrived around noon., we were doing some downtown activities and decided to park at hotel since we would be checking in a little later, at official "check in time". We decided just to check and verify our reservations were good; and we were ALL told that our reservations were good, AND we could check in then! The staff was very helpful and nice. Room was very nice. Had a GREAT time in the downtown. Only 2 things that I were a little bit of a drag was: 1.) I did have to pay for overnight parking in the garage. Would've liked it to be free for people staying there. And 2.) the pool was nice but a bit small/crowded. The rest of the floor was nice. The gym, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and amazing view

Posted Aug 19, 2017
I would highly recommend the skyline view if it doesn't cost too much more. The location of the hotel is perfect, right by all the excitement of Austin and not near any sketchy areas. The pool was nice, a little crowded on the weekends but less so on the weekdays. Staff was nice, lobby area is beautiful. Would pick this hotel if I were to visit Austin again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel near downtown action

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Really liked the location and the staff at the hotel.
The Hilton Austin was a nice hotel with the perfect location! We were greeted with a welcome text as soon as we arrived in our room. Later, I was asked how our stay was going and I explained that I was not happy with our meal at The Taco Project located in the hotel. The Front Desk sent a reply text to inform me that the charges for the meal were removed from my bill.... very thoughtful! We walked to shops, restaurants and city tours with ease. The valet staff were even nice enough to drive us to and from the University of Texas (UT). The upstairs pool was a lot of fun and the temperature of the water was refreshing, not too hot nor too cold. We would stay there again, particularly if my daughter gets accepted to UT!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel perfect location for Convention Center

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Restaurants, location to Convention Center and lobby
Cons: Rooms need to have bottled water!!! In addition, the shampoo and conditioner was the worst I've ever had at any hotel. Bring your own!!!
Location: Close to convention center and 6th Street
Overall very nice. Great hotel restaurants and in a great location if you are in town for the convention center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

Very nice

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Hotel is very nice. Pool area is great! Good location, walking distance or short ride to shopping and bars restaurants. Staff were not super helpful in recommending restaurants but we found our way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Elevator hell

Posted Jul 4, 2017
This conference hotel can't handle the amount of guests they have staying there. Elevators were a nightmare - long waits, crowded, stopping on every floor but too jammed to let people in. We were on 19th floor and we started taking stairs rather than face the unpleasant long wait/ride. Really hard on my elderly parents. When I complained to hotel staff they suggested we plan our schedule around the conference events to avoid crowds ( we were not there for conference). The constant hassle of simply trying to get up/down really wore on us after a couple days and we checked out early.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Overpriced and exorbitant parking fees!!!!!

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The soap and the shampoo.
Cons: Pretty much everything that I explained above.
Location: Located one block off of 6th street, where all the action is.
This is already a high-priced hotel, being a Hilton property. But to add an additional $30 a night parking fee is price gouging!! I don't care if the city of Austin owns the underground parking (?). The price of parking should be comped just like a restaurant or hospital. On top of that, they didn't even clean the room during our stay and most of all, the bed was extremely uncomfortable. We woke up with sore backs every morning because the mattress was like sleeping on a deflated air mattress. Word of advice, ask for a room away from the elevators. We could hear everybody's conversation as clear as if they were right next to us in our room. You get all of this at the discount rate of $250 a night (taxes and parking included)!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location perfect

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Great location close to Austin's downtown. Room was super comfortable. Pool small for the size of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Great hotel, close to 6th street

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: LOVE the location and room size!
Cons: Wait staff attentiveness at breakfast.
Location: Central to downtown and all the restaurants on 6th street.
We had a great experience with the hotel from the time we pulled up until the time we left. The valet staff is outstanding. We opted for the deal including breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking. We upgraded to valet for $9 more per day. The only small disappointment was at breakfast. We had to flag down the wait staff for a coffee refill. We were basically ignored once the initial contact was made. And it wasn't even a busy time, so we aren't why.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenwood, IN

Convenient downtown and walkable to many places

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Overall, it was a good experience, but not 5 stars. They have redone the lobby and it's nice. There is a full starbucks in the lobby. Things that weren't the best: 1. Night #1-I received a text at 10:30 pm from the hotel asking if my room was ok - not everyone who is staying at the hotel is going to be out and about. I was already in bed. 2. Night #2- there was a long black hair in my shower (I have short blonde hair) 3. Night #2 - I got a text asking me to rate my stay, I responded with a 7 because of the hair in my tub and due to the rain there was no tv. I understand that they don't control the rain-but it would be nice to have had another option. They also said they were sending up housekeeping, but at 10:20 pm with a 5 am flight, I was in bed. The hotel seems to cater to the late night crowd well but not business people.