Ratings based on 1,637 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Great Location to party on 6th street for the weekend- although right next to the highway, so not good for a quiet nights sleep. The Facilities, Hotel Quality, and Ameneties were wonderful quality, but during the weekend its to be expected the area gets CRAZY. Great Hotel Overall!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not What I Expect From A Hilton Property

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The valet service was excellent. Expensive, but there really is nothing much less in the area. The valet staff were one of the rare highlights.
Cons: This hotel in my opinion is not worthy of the Hilton name. The staff were okay, not great. The elevators were grungy and not well maintained inside.
Location: Close to everything. Quick walking distance to many restaurants and lots of entertainment venues.
#1 I made a mistake booking with Expedia, the rooms were oversold so our room choice was downgraded. No one from Hilton Garden advised me of this on check in #2 The rooms are tiny, the bathrooms unbelievably small. Only about 6 inches between the door and the toilet, you have to step to the side to close the door! The "fan" in the bathroom is woefully inadequate, take a shower with the door open or you won't be able to breath when you get out. In an area with humidity levels like Austin, you would think they would have fans that actually move the air #3 The swimming pool is smaller that I have seen in most budget hotels. There we exactly 2, yes 2, lounge chairs in the pool area, 1 small table with 4 chairs. It is situated between 2 tall buildings so it gets only 2 or 3 hours of sun in the afternoon. AND, on top of the small size and crappy location, the pool heater was broken, so the water was unbearably cold especially since the pool is shaded #4 There are signs all over the hotel saying that if you are not happy with your experience, you don't pay. Now I am sure this does not apply if you book through Expedia, however, not ONE Hilton employee asked me how my stay was. Not a single person! I expressed my dissatisfaction with the pool, with the bathroom fans, with my room being downgraded, but other than a "Sorry about that", no one seemed to care that I was an incredibly unhappy customer On the upside, the housekeeping staff and the valet staff were very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel in downtown Austin.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to great restaurants, bars, nightlife and interstate 35.
Conveniently located in downtown Austin one block over from 6th street known for its nightlife. Plenty of great restaurants and bars located nearby as well. The room was pleasant and accompanied with mini fridge and microwave. Firm bed with down pillows. Mandatory valet parking but quick service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Andy Preslar, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our property. We are happy to know our location and amenities were beneficial during your stay. We value feedback from all of our guests, and I will be sure to share this with my team of staff. Thank you for being our guest and choosing Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown! Best regards, Andy Preslar, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, horrible location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
I thought I was booking a different hotel and was disappointed as soon as I saw the neighborhood this one is in. No parking except valet, we were told we could park on the street and pay a meter...No thanks. So we forked over the $32 valet fee. Check in was fast and staff were good, room was a tad small, but modern and clean. View was horrible...construction, cranes and a junkyard. Went down to the pool which was tiny, water was brown, full of leaves and ice cold. Went back to our room and key card had quit working. I jumped on the elevator with another couple and panicked when they got off because we were told elevators wouldn't work without the card, but it did let me select Lobby. Took about 30 seconds to reprogram the card. No complimentary breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Nice place to stay while in Austin. Great location and close proximity to the freeway and 6th St. Rooms are very clean and valet service is probably one of the best. The pool is extremely small so our teens were unhappy about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Any Preslar, General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We're happy to hear our team of staff and service was exceptional. On behalf of the hotel, we are sorry to hear our pool did not meet your expectations. Austin's famous Barton Springs Pool is where we highly recommend our guests to visit for the best swimming experience downtown. Thank you once again for your feedback, I will share be sure to share this with my team. Warm regards, Andy Preslar, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

Hotel was great, close to 6th street

Posted May 31, 2017
Hotel was great however Austin has a serious issue with some of the homeless folks. We were constantly harassed and actually frightened a couple times because of aggressive behavior to a point of physical contact. We love the music but do not like the environment!
5 out of 5
by Suzanne Elaine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Small Pool
4 out of 5
by Nick

Good hotel, bad internet

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
All was great except for 1 thing, the internet. The free internet was REALLY slow, but it's free so I can only complain so much there. But, I ended up purchasing the "premium" internet for $5/day. I noticed practically no difference in the internet speed. I even did a speed test before and after and it was close to the same. I told the front desk about it but she just said ok. I would stay here again but will not purchase the internet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Great place to stay in Austin!

Posted May 2, 2017
Very friendly staff, quick check in, nice rooms. We stayed there to be in walking distance of 6th street and it worked out perfect. Walking distance to many things we enjoyed around the area! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the 18th floor. Would definitely stay there again!