Ratings based on 1,634 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Austin

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Good hotel close to downtown. Clean with professional staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, we are thrilled that you had such a great time! I know I speak for my entire team when I say that your review reaffirms why we are in this business. We take pride in providing exceptionally clean rooms. Please let us know when you are returning so that we may provide you another great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Cons: The television - no PBS or HGTV. Lots of stations I've never heard of.
Good location for walking to the sights of Austin. Complete breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. We are happy to see you enjoyed the location. We look forward that you will choose to stay with us again soon and have a five star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso, tx

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Stayed for a girls weekend. Great location walking distance to plenty restaurants and sixth st. The room was spacious and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eliza. We work to provide our guests with an excellent experience, and I’m happy to see we were able to achieve this for you. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope you will continue to use our facility whenever you are in the Austin area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Excelent location but the paid parking is a killer

Posted Jul 8, 2017
This hotel has a perfect location. Staff was great too. But valet parking is the killer. Why should I pay $40 / night for parking if Im a guest of the hotel. That is not fair. Actually that could make me think if I would go to this hotel again. They are charging the same pkg rate for guests and not guest of the hotel. Suggestion is lower the pkg rate for hotel guests or even dont charge. Planning to go back to Austin in Oct but would think if I would like to spend 40$ / night for pkg
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Gabriella Font, Hotel Management
Hello. We sincerely thank you for taking the time out to review and share your experience during your stay. We take pride in our friendly staff and we are glad your interactions reflect that. We do hope you continue to stay with us in the future as it would be our pleasure to accommodate you on your upcoming Austin visit in October! Thank you, again! All the best, the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in downtown Austin

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Valet parking is expensive $37 a day with tax and everything it came out to exactly $80 for 2 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our goal is to always provide the best possible service our guests come to expect and deserve. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and give you a five star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Great location, great staff, good breakfast

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great value for money, amazing staff, very clean, modern, free (and good) breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bruno, It makes our day to hear that we excelled your expectations of cleanliness during your stay! Thank you so much for your five star review, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Nice hotel but NO PARKING.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, good breakfast.
Cons: Parking.
The hotel is nice. Great location, clean room, comfortable bed, great A/C! Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast had a lot of options BUT was always very crowded, which led to waiting and missing items - one day was no plates, next day no glasses, next day no forks... Kitchen staff need to be a bit quicker on the re-supply. And, one other thing that always gets under my skin with hotels - expensive valet parking as the ONLY option. I understand that parking spots are a scarce resource but guests should either have a discounted self-park option or a discount on valet parking. $38 a day is A LOT of money and when you throw in tips you're looking at $50+ a day just to park. That means it costs more for a parking spot than for a bed... Just because you CAN charge that much doesn't mean you SHOULD. And it's enough to make me never stay at this hotel again. And yeah, I know, that's how hotels operate. I'll just stay out in the suburbs on my next trip. I don't need to pay $50 a day extra just to be downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Gabriella Font, Hotel Management
Hello Keith and thank you for your review! We at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown pride ourselves on our service. We will most certainly make sure the appropriate departments are made aware of your concerns in order to make everyone's visit with us an enjoyable one. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations the next time you're in Austin. We'd love to have you back! All the best, the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown team.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel but plenty of problems during our stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This is a nice hotel, but we had so many problems during our stay I couldn't give more than 3 stars. First they couldn't find my reservation during check-in. A few hours later they checked in other people to the same room. We were sleeping inside the room when the other couple tried to get into our room thinking it was empty (luckily I had the lock on). I went outside to sort it out and after that my key wasn't working because obviously they deactivated my key during the confusion. Other than that my room wasn't cleaned two days in a row and I had to complain to get it cleaned. We tried to use the pool, but there were a bunch of guys drinking and smoking in the pool (this is a non smoking hotel). The breakfast was overcrowded and the buffet was constantly missing food. I only gave 3 stars because the room is really nice (spacious, modern and comfortable)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chattanooga

Nice and roomy

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Rooms were great.
Cons: Housekeeping did not arrive to clean until late in the afternoon.
Nice hotel. Walking distance to most everything. Nice rooms the sectional couch was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your review and we are delighted to see it was a great hotel experience for you. We enjoyed your visit and welcome you back whenever you are in the Austin area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best experience

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This hotel is not horrible. I'd rate a 3 out of 5 stars. For the money though, there are much friendlier hotels in the area. The room was small, the bathroom door is transparent and the air from the vent was very moist. We mentioned it to the staff and they just said "well this is Texas". I live in Texas and I've never stayed in a hotel that had moist linens and upholstery. They were rude and condescending. The bell hop guys were the nicest people there. Not worth the $179 a night unless you're just looking for somewhere to sleep and don't care about service. Breakfast was great but I wouldn't recommend to anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Courtney Cannon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your less than satisfactory stay with us. We pride ourselves on being the cleanest and friendliest hotel, we do not settle for anything less, and hope you give us a chance in the future to make it right. We will forward your comments to the appropriate department, and make sure that the proper steps are taken to ensure this does not happen again. Thanks and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Austin!