Ratings based on 1,852 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to bus transportation to u t campus

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Very good service by desk staff and good service from maids and breakfast staf. Lack of daily papers like USAtoday IDA drawback.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that the location was wonderful for you. I will share this wonderful review with my team and we look forward to seeing you again soon when you return to Austin. Thank you again for the review. Jason H. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Wam staff, Fun pool, Central location

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Melissa's greeting and efficiency set us up for a great time in Austin. Loved the pool. Double decker bus tour, restaurants, Imax Thor movie, museums, the Lake, bats, we did it all from your central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Noelle, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was wonderful. I will share this wonderful news with my team and celebrate this with Melissa as well. She is one of our best. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to see you again. Jason H. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Central location. Very quiet. Convenient for the airport
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay because of the location and how quiet it was during your sleeping hours. I will celebrate this wonderful news with my team and celebrate the success. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you next time you return to Austin. Jason H. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Worth Mentioning

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Only good thing about this hotel was the location in downtown Austin. Too many things were broken - ice machine & light fixture. TV channel selection was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I do want to apologize for the average stay that you had and wanted to communicate with you about what happened with the lights. All the lights work in the rooms and some of them (by the desk and dresser) are controlled by the master light switch by the entrance of the door. I will share this with my team and rest assured I don't want to lose your business over this. I would like to invite you back when you return to Austin in the near future knowing that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable. Thank you again for the review. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Jason H. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Clean, quiet and had everything I needed

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: clean, quiet, inexpensive
Cons: nothing, really
Location: walking distance to downtown, 2 blocks from the airport bus stop
Could not be happier with my experience. I would stay there again, for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us recently and giving us some wonderful feedback about your experience. I am happy to see that your room was clean, stay was quiet, and you got everything you needed while in downtown Austin. I will share this wonderful feedback with my team and we look forward to seeing you again soon when you return to Austin. Jason H. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Not fancy but nice

Posted Oct 31, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel location, cleanliness, and helpfulness of the staff. Nice simple hotel with basic amenities and bargain price for the area. Totally safe for female travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Nancy, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we expect nothing but great things from out guests when they stay with us. We strive hard each and every day for every guest to ensure they are getting the experience you enjoyed. I will share this wonderful feedback with my team and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Austin in the near future. Jason H. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach, FL

Walking distance to main areas.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Hotel was clean and very comfortable. No frills, but fine for what we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Chuck, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was wonderful for you. I will share this with my team and celebrate the success of another guest enjoying their stay. Thank you again for the review and we will see you next time. Jason H. General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old uncomfortable hard to get in or out

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: demolish it and build a new one, using a different architect
Location: near the salvation army
Old uncomfortable hard to get in or out hole in the wall
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us recently and allowing us to have you as our guest. I do want to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and I am highly concerned about your stay. I am unsure of what you mean by demolish the building and hire a new architect. If you can please contact me at your earliest convenience so I may inquire some more information I would appreciate it so I can improve the operation of our hotel. I don't want to lose your business and I would also like to invite you back in the near future knowing that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable. Thank you again for the review and I look forward to speaking to you soon. Jason H. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

I recommend it

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Very nice hotel. Maybe can improve the condition of power outlets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Pablo, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were kind enough to give us some feedback about your stay. I will share this wonderful news with my team and celebrate the success of another guest's wonderful stay. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you next time. Jason H. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kennett Square, PA

OK but nothing fancy

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Old style motel with outside entry. Good housekeeping.
Cons: Better breakfast, cheaper price. I didn't have a car so the high cost of parking didn't bother me.
Location: One block from the capitol building and several walkable blocks from the convention center and restaurants.
Spent 4 days on a business trip. Great location 1 block from the capitol building and several walkable blocks from the convention center and restaurants. Old style cement block motel with outside room entry. The carb breakfast was free and worth every nickel. Even the coffee was bad. After the first morning, I passed on the muffins and went to Starbucks about 3 blocks away. I like these old motels, but usually expect them to be much cheaper - so not a whole lot of value here. I'd stay here again but would pick a better hotel if my wife came along. Pleasant staff and housekeeping does a good job. Nice, small outdoor pool, although I didn't use it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Greg, Thank you for staying with us and letting us know how your experience was. I am happy to see that we were able to accommodate you with a basic hotel for your needs and that the housekeeping staff was wonderful. I will share this feedback with my team and we do look forward to seeing you again when you return to Austin the near future. Thank you again for the review. Jason H. General Manager