Ratings based on 2,749 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterton IN

Very Nice!

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Pros: cleanliness, quiet, breakfast buffet, Joey as our server, and the overall look of it; always looking for new places to stay
Cons: nothing
we were only there for one night, but the room was very plush, but more importantly we were treated very well by all the staff; would highly recommend it
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
We appreciate the outstanding review, Sheila! We're so glad that you chose to stay with us. It's also wonderful to know that Joey had such a positive impact on the quality of your experience. Our staff is dedicated to providing our guests with courteous and attentive service, and we're delighted to know that he went above and beyond in this regard. We can't wait to see you again soon so we can share another excellent experience with you soon. Have a beautiful day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Lord Baltimore was great!

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Our overall stay was great. The hotel staff was very helpful, pleasant and professional. The room was nice and clean and the hotel overall was nice. The neighborhood that the hotel was in leaves a bit to be desired, but since we spent more time downtown and in the neighboring cities, that wasn't too big of a deal. Baltimore is a nice city with a lot of potential yet a lot of work to do to get the city in a good place. Overall, I'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, Guest! We are glad you had a great experience with us! It's wonderful that our team was able to assist you and that you appreciated our clean and comfortable accommodations. We are disappointed to see some of your concerns, and we will let our team know about them. We always work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you again for an even better experience. Thanks again, and have a lovely day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overbooked Their Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Overbooked hotel and gave away my 'guaranteed' and pre-paid room, offered up a pull-out couch for my stay. Mattress was an inch thick with poky coils but it was after midnight by that time and I stayed the night instead of going out into a city I didn't know to look for a room. The room that night was a 'meeting room' with a bath. I moved the next morning - they apologized but couldn't do anything else. Sure glad there was another place I could stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were disappointed to learn that the condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we aspire to and we will share your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you allow us the chance to share a more positive experience with you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2018
This hotel has a rooftop bar/lounge which is huge selling point however for whatever reason (which was not disclosed at time of reservation) the bar is not scheduled to open until late April. During our stay April 14-15..temps in 80s and the Lights of the City event was going on..hotel's poor planning. Very disappointed as the bar was open in mid Oct during our last stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Guest. It's great you had a pleasant stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed our accommodations. However, we're disappointed your time with us was less than ideal and that you had such challenges with our rooftop bar being closed. We care about the satisfaction of our guests so we'll be sure to address your concerns with our team moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Posted Apr 16, 2018
We had a great night staying in this hotel. We will definitely comimg back and stay here when we go around Baltimore area again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4-star rating, Rocel! It's pleasing to know we've left you with a great impression. We can't wait to see you again soon so we can share an even better experience with you. Thank you again for sharing! Have a lovely day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Binghamton

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2018
This is a beautiful hotel and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We were only able to stay for a short time but will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words, Michelle! It's excellent you enjoyed your time with us so much! We pride ourselves in offering a clean and comfortable environment for all of our guests and your praise tells us we're succeeding. Thank you again for sharing your review with us! We can't wait to see you again soon for another amazing experience! Have a stellar day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted Apr 15, 2018
The only drawback was the fire/CO2 monitor had a blue light and was located right above the beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit this feedback. We are always working as hard as we can to provide the best stays for our guests. We regret to hear that your stay was less than perfect. We will share all of your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope you plan on staying with us again soon for an even better experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price and rude staff, bad facilities

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Not sure where to start from bad wi-fi connection, to dirty towels which did not get replaced event after complains, asked for a shaving cream and tooth paste - out of which dried up shaving cream was delivered on my last day(out of the 3 nights i stayed) which i really did not use, god knows how old was it. Asked for water bottles from service and was told to come and pick up. Also only once in 3 days someone really answered room service phone. Front desk seemed really helpless as mostly there was just one person and could not leave and do anything other than attending guests there. I think i made a good decision on not using the restaurants.. I would not stay there again...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback with us. It's unfortunate your stay in our hotel didn't exceed your expectations. We regret you weren't entirely satisfied with our furnishings and accommodations. We also are disappointed to hear that our team didn't go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and welcome. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with our team so that we may improve moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Orioles Stadium

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Friendly helpful staff, cozy indoor lounge or roof top bar with sky view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this wonderful review! We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us! We appreciate your praise for our team; they work very hard to ensure every guest feels right at home. We are delighted you felt welcomed and valued during your time with us! We'd love to share another positive experience with you in the future! Have a beautiful day, and thanks again for sharing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Stay was great. Main drawback was the constant noise of sirens from ambulances, fire trucks and cop cars. At all times of the day and night. Also the hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the inner harbor area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We're happy you had a pleasant experience with us! It's lovely you enjoyed our great accommodations so much. That's what we like to see! However, we regret that our noise insulation didn't meet your expectations. We endeavor to offer a top-notch experience for our guests so we'll be sure to discuss your concerns moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for an even better experience! Have a lovely day!