Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Poor fitness center
2 out of 5
by Sergio from Asuncion

I did my review "poor qualification " on trip Advi

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
I just wouldn't repeat it
4 out of 5
by richard from long island, ny, usa

Upscale health club with different types of rooms

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
Best to stay in main house of hotel, most up to date rooms. If you are in the Best Western section you are getting small, bungalow type rooms. The hotel is really a short walk away, where breakfast is served in the winter.
3 out of 5
by andrew from new york

Nice pace to stay but there were issues

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at the Best Western portion of Villa Sofia. First, the pros- nice, secluded guest houses in a wooded area of a quiet neighborhood. The studios are like wood cabins that are very quaint and comfortable. There is a good kitchenette too. Now the cons, we were told (or maybe it was a miscommunication) that breakfast was included. Upon checkout, we discovered that we had $100 in breakfast charges, but we never would have gone had we thought there was a charge (especially since we had plenty of food from the supermarket and a kitchen in the room). Maybe there was some misunderstanding, but in any other situation, I would have expected the hotel to give the customer the benefit of the doubt, and they refused to waive the charge, which I had to later dispute with my credit card company. The entire experience tainted our stay. Other Cons- There was no shampoo in out hotel room for the first 2 days until we requested it. The hotel is up a very steep hill from town, and we had to take several cabs to get back because it was so tiring. Also, I took a massage at the spa--it was inexpensive, which I thought was great, but the masseuse was terrible and used no pressure even after I asked a few times for more pressure. Also, the massage rooms were like high-walled cubicles, with no ceiling, so you could hear other people at the spa talking and shouting--very unrelaxing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good if ski season otherwise a bit out of towb

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels
Nice size room, but room was unbearably hot so much so we couldn't sleep. There was a problem with the heating which we contacted reception about but we got no solution. The room temperature control had broken. It feels like a ski lodge and we stayed in Spring. It is a little out of town so next time I would stay closer but it does have a supermarket across the road if you wish to cook. Staff were pleasant. Reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
by Tim Sharek from Burlington, VT

Comfortable hotel for ski getaway

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels
My girlfriend and I were looking for a hotel to stay in Bariloche for our ski trip to Cerro Catedral. The room was very comfortable and had its own kitchen in which we made a couple of meals. On the first night, the power went out in the area and the hotel staff provided us with a candle. The power resumed five hours later in the evening. It was a little inconvenient that the free continental breakfast and the pool/spa were located further up the steet between other unassociated buildings. Downtown is located at the bottom of a steep hill about 10 minutes away and 15 minutes going up. it can be quite a workout getting up especially when carrying warm clothes for skiing at the mountain. We took a bus to the mountain (which was cheap 10 pesos) and that bus stop was also downtown. The staff was generally friendly and some of the staff was able to speak English since our Spanish wasn't perfect. I might recommend another hotel downtown near the bus stop if you are also planning on taking the bus to the mountain. We wanted a hotel with a pool that was near the downtown area and got what we wanted.
4 out of 5
by Doug from Vancouver, BC

Apartment style hotel with kitchen on busy street.

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Large rooms with kitchen
Cons: Location, our room was on a noisy street
Location: A bit of a walk Up a hill from the town center.
This is a limited service apartment style hotel. No breakfast included in our rate. The attraction for us was the kitchen. After a month traveling it was a nice change to cook our own meals. The rooms are large. However, our room was on a noisy street. We asked to move but they had no others available. At night a huge security spot light came on pointed directly at our front window. Location is in walking distance from town center but up a steep hill. Lots of restaurants , shops nearby. If you really want to be in Bariloche( nothing special in Bariloche, we would stay outside of town next time on the lake) and you want a kitchen this might be an option but ask for a room off the road.
4 out of 5
by Tomm C

A perfect getaway!

Posted Dec 12, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed in Bariloche out of season. I really thought the charm of this ski resort would be misisng at this time of year but these cabins at Best Western really gave me a sense of what it would be like to be there during the winter. The staff were incredibly charming and the location (while a short uphill walk away) has a perfectly adequate supermarket opposite and a very reasonable launderette. Another highlight was the breakfast, the heated floor and access to the gym. Yes, the gym was very basic, but it was great on our tour of Argentina to get a chance to get some exercise, a quick swim and a nice sauna. Very reasonable but very charming.
4 out of 5
by RH

Bariloche

Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels
Very happy stay. Though the Cabanas is not in the town centre, it is only 10 minutes' walk. However it is on a hill if one doesn't mind the exercise. It is a chalet accomodation but one can use all the facilities of the main hotel. We would recommend the Cabanas Sofia which is cheaper than the main hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels