Ratings based on 1,464 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2018
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Park City Utah

Posted May 18, 2018
Good access to UC Berkeley. Historic hotel with good dining room and furnishings. Our deluxe room had limited storage space for 2 people. Elevators were slow because guest elevators were being use by service staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2018
Expensive for what they offer. They are taking advantage of better options in town. As a regular client, I noticed the decrease of the relationship between value-accomodations. No mini bar, old iron in room, food not comparable with price... It's a hotel that would cost $150/night in any other place in the world. Personnel, very friendly. Administrative team making decisions, too greedy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2018
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aspen

Great Location Bad Execution

Posted May 14, 2018
This hotel should be better than it is. It is a great location. However,the performance of the staff and the condition of some rooms leaves a lot to be desired. I had to ask twice to get a reasonable room, the first one I was given overlooked a noisy air conditioning unit on the roof of an adjacent building. The rooms themselves are only okay. My bathroom had water stains on the marble around fittings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel in downtown Berkeley

Posted May 12, 2018
The hotel is lovely. My only criticism is that there was an odor that reminded me of leftover Chinese food in the lobby when we first arrived and in the staircase. Otherwise, it really was a perfect experience. The room and bathroom were very comfortable and attractive. The lobby had a grand early to mid-20th century feel. It is unfortunate that there are so many street people in the neighborhood around the hotel. But that's downtown Berkeley and it's a societal problem not the hotel's fault.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2018
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2018
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic

Posted May 2, 2018
Pros: The front desk staff
Cons: The lobby
Nothing special about this hotel. It was probably grand back in the day, but it's now just a clean, comfortable place to stay. The room as smaller than I expected, but everything about it was fine. The front desk crew is exceptional. Parking is in the garage across the street, and expensive.