Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great UAB Location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel staff were super friendly and accommodating. The room had a smell like body odor, sour. I couldn't sleep in the bed. It was not very firm. I do need an extremely firm bed so I am used to this but even my husband who can sleep anywhere had trouble in this bed. The mattresses need replacing. Room size is good and seemed clean to look at. The air goes on and off blowing super hard and then nothing. So you go from hot to freezing. Seems it could run on low with a moderate blowing at a more constant speed and be much better. Parking garage is convenient. Location is really great for walking downtown and right close to UAB. Has a nice bistro inside to grab a pizza or a beer. The people that work there are exceptionally friendly. It may have just been this room because I have stayed here before and didn't experience this air issue. Would try again because of staff!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa Beach, Florida

Fast trip to UAB.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great hotel the staff always go over and above every time we have been there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick Weekend

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Proximity to UAB is great for a lot of reasons but also a challenge to sleep with sirens and helicopters throughout the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nowhere, NW

Would stay here again, thanks to Sam!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Clean and in the heart of downtown Birmingham. Price matches the room expectations.
Cons: It would be nice if the front desk employees were able to give a little more information about how the prepaid breakfast is handled.
The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly for the most part. The only issue I had was that I purchased the breakfast with my room and when it came time to eat, they didn't have a record of payment. They then asked me to print out my the information from Expedia to prove payment. I had a meeting within the hour and had all my luggage with me. There was no way I was going through all that trouble, especially since the employees at the front desk didn't seem to be too concerned with helping me. The employee at the restaurant, Sam, made a potentially irritating situation much more tolerable. She was very very happy and upbeat and helped me solve the issue. If it weren't for her, I would have rated this stay a 2 or a 3. If you stay here, go see Sam. She was great! :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Psnama city, fl

Not worth the $

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Room had bad smell, carpet dirty, old coffee pack in coffee maker, sharp dangerous object on floor, 1 towel 3 people. Just not what I expected from a Marriott. Received a template email from AGM and GM I wrote back with my concerns... did not hear back
5 out of 5
by Haley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Pro master

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great 1 night stay, walking distance to ballfield

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Great, safe hotel downtown. Fyi $10 parking overnight in attached garage, shared with UAB hospital. Room was great & comfortable, restaurant/bar in the hotel was good too. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Ashley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Catherine

UAB location location location

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect lication to UAB and downtown amenities. Small and cozy . Quiet.