Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The staff was incredibly kind and helpful.
Cons: Breakfast was a little disappointing.
Location: Located in the center of downtown and close to all nearby restaurants and activities.
Very quaint and beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown. Staff was wonderful and very helpful. We stayed there for a family wedding and were very pleased with the service and amenities of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Beautiful hotel! Classic architecture with modern conveniences! I loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

The Tutwiler still has it!

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: The location is great and the hotel staff is friendly.
Cons: Change brand of soaps and shampoos offered.
Location: Plenty to do nearby - staff can assist or download Birmingham's IN app which has a extremely useful city guide to everything Birmingham.
As Birmingham continues to grow and the lodging options expand, it is great this Birmingham staple is still in the game. Great location, comfortable accommodations and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Andalusia AL

Nice place

Posted Nov 4, 2017
All was very nice but did not know that they only have valet parking until I arrived. Should just add this into room rate, since only other option is metered parking on street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

clogged sink

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Sink in my $150 room was clogged and no-one even pay too much attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Business stay

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Clean facilities with very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Room did not have cold water at the sink. Room was a bit on the small side.
Location: Hotel is convenient downtown location, but not many restaurants or activities nearby.
Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed just one night on a business trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Restaurant

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel should have noted that when we booked our room that the restaurant and bar was under construction.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mobile

Tired property - better options elsewhere

Posted Sep 28, 2017
I was not advised prior to check in that the bar was under repair and not available. As a consequence, I had to meet my clients at another local hotel bar. The shower head in my room was not fully functional as it would not fully engage, resulting in a trickle of water coming out. There was only scalding hot water available from my sink. Paying over $220 / night for this is unacceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery Village, MD

Noisy Fan

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The air conditioning fan was so NOISY, I had to turn the entire system off, and sleep in the AL humidity. Not happy about that at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BHam

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Excellent staff, convenient location. Clean room.