Ratings based on 636 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Beautiful period Hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Design
Cons: Sound proofing
Location: Many landmarks close by
What a beautiful hotel. Small and quaint. Unfortunately the rooms are REALLY SMALL, and the walls made out of cardboard :-( (not to mention the 1 inch gap under the door to let the light (and sound) come in from the drunkards coming in at 1am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Opelika

Well maintained hotel in downtown

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: Breakfast was great. Dining area and rooms were first rate. Well taken care of - very nice. Staff was very positive and helpful.
Overall a fine experience. HOWEVER - just for others - because I did not notice this: There is no 'free parking during weekdays.' There is hotel valet parking ($22/day at this time). After 5pm (and on weekends) on street parking is free. But if you are planning to park at the hotel and walk to your destination weekdays you will need to valet park or use a nearby parking deck ($10+/-) The listing did note this, but it is unusual for this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just What I Needed

Posted Feb 12, 2018
For a single night stay, this hotel was just what i was looking for. A comfortable bed, everything clean, and a very kind front-desk person. I had a fantastic nights sleep, and really enjoyed the cute coffee cups in the morning (a nice little touch!). Walking distance to everything I planned for my stay, I really recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Historical with character!

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Beautiful hotel with spacious rooms and lots of windows. Nice bar with great food and friendly staff. There were a few kinks.. broken tub stopper, broken ice machine.. but all in all, a nice place. To avoid the expensive valet, park on the street!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tupelo, Ms

Restaurant at The Tutwiler

Posted Jan 20, 2018
We had dinner upon our arrival...ordered oyster poboy, advised no oysters, so settled for shrimp poboy...it was tasty...but really looking forward to having creme brûlée for dessert...decided to get creme brûlée to go and enjoy it in our room...waiter finally came back and said chef couldn’t do creme brûlée to go!! Excuse me!! Never heard of this before...we left very very disappointed!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Tutwiler

Posted Jan 19, 2018
This is a really fancy hotel y’all. My wife loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Outstanding Experience!

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Great historical hotel with very nice amenities. The staff were very helpful and responsive. Friendly service and a wonderful stay. Rooms are well appointed and quiet. I highly recommend the Hampton Tutwiler!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Loved the breakfast! The room was great! The staff was professional, kind, and welcoming.
Cons: I was overall pleased with the stay.
Location: Brunch, Top golf, many restaurants and bars, hiking trails.
Perfect for a two night stay! Breakfast is great! Since my stay was during the weekend I used free street parking, but they also have Valet for $22 or metered street parking during the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anniston, Alabama

Great downtown Business district hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2018
The hotel staff are super friendly and informative. Was allowed to leave car in Valet parking even after checkout for the entire day with no extra charge!!!! Will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland

Home Again...

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Originaly from Birmingham, Staying frequently at the Tutwiler. Each visit...which has been numerous since Moms illnes and passing last year, is a familar and "back home" journey for me. From the friendly and courteous parking/greeting staff at the front door, to the computer savy Front Desk Receptionist, I'm back home again. I have experienced some major concerns and made them known to Management. I was disappointed to see the photo of "The Magic City" removed. A part of our history...bring it back. I always look foward to an early rise to make my way to the elegant, warm, delicious complimentary breakfast. You can't help but feel cared for with the gracious & attentive service of ... Kathy's "How you doing, do you need anything." Just ask for what you need/want and the next thing you know, there's a knock on you door.