Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel close to entertainment

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Breakfast is good. Room is not bad for a night stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by SR, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for you comments about breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Cons: Whenever there is a busy weekend, make sure to have at least a couple rooms available for check-in for customers that arrive before 3pm.
Always a good choice to stay here. However, was just a little concerned about having to wait for 3 hours for a room to become available once I arrived. I understand that it was a busy weekend, but at least be kinda prepared for those arriving before 3pm to have some availability for early check-in. Knowing that check out is 11am, please try to have the room cleaned shortly there after knowing there's a strong possibility on a busy weekend that several guest would arrive before 3.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately, when we are sold out and check-out is at noon it is very difficult to have rooms available for early arrival.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mobile, Alabama

Enjoyable stay, convenient location.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean. Quick check-in. Comfortable bed. Good working suite.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Downtown Birmingham, so a quick drive to almost anywhere including UAB.
Clean room, great location downtown in Birmingham. Competitive pricing. I enjoyed it. The only downside was the breakfast was so-so, and recommendations for restaurants nearby were limited. Parking garage was a plus, and it was secure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for you kind comments and constructive observations. I have shared your review with the entire staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Good location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We had an event at the Iron City venue, and this hotel is so close so that was wonderful. However, our room wasn't ready by the check in time which was annoying. And the AC unit leaked all over the carpet so that the carpet was soaked and the room smelled moldy. Besides from that, everything was wonderful: nice staff, clean, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fla.

UAB Appointment

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Conviently located to UAB hospital.
Cons: Perhaps modern furnishings?
Location: Lots of food establishments locally within walking distance.
Property and housekeeping well maintained.very Clean! Entire staff is very helpful courteous and friendly. I will be using this facility upon my return in Oct 2017. Really liked the shuttle transport. Like the comp breakfast. Upon departure I accidentally left my medical paperwork at the checkout desk. Property was secured by your staff. It is being forwarded to me VIA FedX. Thank you for returning these documents to me, they were my next hospital visit. I will be sure to remember the Springhill suites for my next visit. KUDOS!👏😀
5 out of 5
by VAUGHN

One good night

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
During a weekend when many Hurricane Irma evacuees were pouring into Birmingham looking for lodging, I was able to grab a room for one night with Springhill Suites. I was visiting my mother in the hospital, so I really just needed a place to crash at night. During check-in, the front desk staff appeared to be calmly handling the huge influx of guests, and everything appeared to run smoothly during my one-night stay. I was also able to use the fitness room, which is nicely equipped for a hotel of this level. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was great, but the check in was rough. There was someone at the front of the line who was obviously a hot mess. That left a line of people waiting to check in. The desk was staffed by a woman and a man. I'm not sure where the man went, but he walked away on his cell phone. Maybe he was working, but it didn't appear that way. Meanwhile, the woman, DeAsha, managed the check in process. She was awesome. So kind in a situation where there was a lot of tension. It took a long time because she needed help. Again, though, she handled things very well. The morning and. Real fast we're great.
3 out of 5
by Jeremy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Very nice rooms

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Staff was excellent and room very comfortable. Amazing breakfast