Ratings based on 985 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Staff was rude. Room was dirty, and smelled like septic backed up. Overall I would say the pictures were very decieving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern decor with a modest price

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Decor was awesome, beds were comfy and it has a great spa like bathroom!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Stayed for 3 nights. Only downfall is that the outside bar/patio is located in the middle of the rooms so you can't really have after dark drinks in a group without disturbing guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by MIchal, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The Modern walks a fine line of fun and sleep. Personally, I am soothed by the sounds of people having a good time outside my door. It reminds me of when I was a kid staying at my grandparents’ house listening to the adults discussing the news of the day. We are always working to balance quiet and fun. Everyone needs both. We always request those who want a more tranquil experience ask for a room down the hall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unique, fun, vibrant hotel in the heart of Boise

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: This hotel makes you happy - people seem happy there
Location: Big City Coffee, great restaurant at hotel, but incredible eats close by, really great shopping - funky record store with fun gifts, Piece Unique
I love the Modern Hotel, the restaurant, the ambiance, the incredible location for Farmer's market, dining options (both dinner and breakfast). It has great parking - easy to access in Boise (somewhat out of the downtown traffic flow). The rooms are great and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Another great stay!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Absolutely perfect stay. Clean and quiet with friendly staff. Bar is great and the newly added dinner menu is a nice addition. Breakfast was sparse (tiny croissants, granola, yogurt, juice/coffee and fruit (oranges, grapefruit to peel) which was fine if you can eat gluten and dairy. They do expand it on the weekend. But we weren't there for the breakfast so it wasn't that big of a deal. Our favorite place to stay in Boise!! We wil be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rooms, great location, exvellent food

Posted Jun 27, 2017
I stay here for a convention. Meeting and the Modern is consistently excellent i have been a happy customer for 10 years
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Loved the creativity shown with the remodel! You would never guess that this was a former Travelodge! The free bikes really added to our stay. We spent hours exploring the green belt along the river. Wonderful surprise stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nothing special

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The pictures online make this look place look nicer than it is. Kinda pricey fir what you get. No refirigirator no microwave no tub no pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Michal, Hotel Management
Jessica, Thank you for your comments. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. We do provide refrigerators and microwaves on request. Please come back and see us again, we will insure that you enjoy your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique and fun hotel in great location.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
In town for son's graduation. Handy, clise by to local family, wish we had had time to try the yummy sounding food!
5 out of 5
by Eric

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Loved staying at the Modern. The staff is great - we had the brunch on a Sunday (not included) and loved it! Smaller menu, but everything we had was unbelievably tasty. The bathroom has a waterfall shower which is a highlight. A short walk into downtown with nice weather and a great space for a night out.