Ratings based on 5,685 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Outside of Boston

Historic, but very dated for the cost.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: It's in a great location being near the financial district and Quincy Market.
Cons: The rooms are terribly dated and all those 'special' touches of a hotel are simply missing from this place. It feels neglected, not historic.
Location: The one serious benefit is the location, being near Quincy Market, many restaurants, bars, and shops.
The hotel is in a great location, but the rooms are very dated. I stayed in a pricey executive suite and everything from the HVAC system, to the bathrooms, to the decor, is very dated and old, but not in a quaint sort of way. In the cabinet that should have had a fridge, there was just a rough hole in the cabinet that looks like someone stole the unit right out of it! It's not a terrible hotel, but it's simply not what I expected given the high price tag. The primary bar is comfortable and makes excellent drinks, but sadly I can't sleep in the bar! I love historic locations and appreciate the connection to the past, but there is a way to honor that while updating it to keep it fresh and updated. This hotel has not done that at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great historical Hotel room renovations needed

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The history and the old lobby.
Cons: Remodel the rooms.
Location: Great downtown location.
Several problems in the room from nails protruding on the bottom legs of the coffee table, standing in a foot of water while showering, rusted bathroom fixtures and a well slept in pull out couch mattress (ouch). This is a old hotel which is fine and full of history but the rooms are in need of an upgrade especially the suites. All issues were brought up to management some issues were handled very quickly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Internet for $10 extra? Are they kidding?

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: include internet service in room for price charged for room
Location: uiWithin walking distance in Boston Harbor, Faneuil Hall & Marketplace, the State House, Paul Rever's House and many, many good restaurants
The Omni is an old Hotel very well situated near the tourist areas of Boston. We stayed there before some 35 years ago and it has hardly changed. But it is well maintained and clean; beds are comfy. However at a large sum / night, it seems childish to charge an extra $10/day just for internet service in the room. There is "free" WiFi in a section of the lobby however. As it so happens we were also charged $50/day for 2 days for valet parking, an error on the hotel's part since were did not have a car while in Boston. We brought this error to the attention of the receptionist, a blond young woman with a rather terse Swedish accent, who actually doubted us that we were telling the truth about not having car. She even called down to the "valet area" to have them check on it while we had to wait 10 minutes for an answer that was not forthcoming. Amazing. If the receptionist or valet folks thought we had a car all they had to do is wait for us to ask for the car to prove their charge. After all they have our credit card number. Finally the receptionist gave in and grudgingly took the charge away but refused to give us a billing showing so for the 3 days we stayed there and had already paid. It should also be noted that our room, likely one of the lowest cost rooms at 400/night was on the 3rd floor and had sort of a window, but in was up high above the AC unit, so we could not actually look out of it. All in all, one would expect a bit more from an "upper scale" hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: location is the best feature of this hotel
Arrived late night-stayed only one night-hotel was fine but very small room for the price paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Central to interesting areas of Boston and on the

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Location: Freedom trail
Very comfortable bed and quiet The breakfast was disappointing. Cold fried egg and potatoes, took a long time to be served. Lovely atmosphere and attentive, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Topeka, KS

Centrally located to all Historical sites.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Located within easy walking distances of subway, historical sites, Hugh number of food choices of every variety, bus tours, easy commutes on subway to Fenway Park, JFK Library, Logan Airport and many other tourist destinations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel close to venues

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Felt safe. Cleanliness of facility.
The hotel was in close proximity to many venues. The Concierge staff member Rebecca provided outstanding customer service. I liked the décor and the history of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location. Hotel conciser.
Cons: Free Breakfast. Better Internet access. DON'T have customers login in EVERY SINGLE time and have to sign up for membership to get free internet.
Location: Freedom Trail. Cheers bar. Duck Tour. Subway access.
Awesome experience in everything except two: 1. No Free Breakfast! 2. Internet Access - Horrible way they have you connect. Everything else was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good city center location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Walk to lots of restaurants and the attractions along the Freedom Trail
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington VA

A wonderful surprise!

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: location and services
A wonderful hotel in all respects and well located. Next time in Boston we will try it again1 Everyone was friendly and helpful.