Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buffalo ny

Beautiful renovation!! Stunning

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Was the best ever in a respects!!went to a wedding. Food was excellent!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice location, large and clean room, quiet

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Front desk people were nice and friendly. Excellent location It really worth what you pay -
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting place, close to all, good coffee

Posted Sep 25, 2017
I only stayed for one night, room was spacious, no fridge, but had a fireplace which was nice. Hallway to my room was a bit long and creepy, and there was a thumping noise on my ceiling early morning like someone dropping something heavy. One of the vanity lights was out so made it dark in the bathroom area. the modern shower with no door caused a lot of water to splash onto the floor in the bathroom. Coffee however was delicious and strong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Lafayette Great for a weekend getaway in the city

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Architecture, Historical, Décor, Location, Price, Staff
Cons: The breakfast buffet wasn't great quality food (but it was free, so what more can expect?) Pre packaged eggs and frozen hash browns, stale cereal, etc
Location: One block from LRT train, located right downtown, easy to drive around, or walk to water front
Staff was great with the exception of one who did not seem to know much about Canalside and what it had to offer, nor whether it was park-like (it is, btw). Otherwise they were very informative and friendly. I would skip the complimentary breakfast buffet unless you are starving to death-food was not good. Instead have a coffee and pastry in the lobby café, and enjoy the Art Deco beauty of the lobby itself. Our junior suite was perfect-size, décor very in keeping with the Art Deco period of architecture/design but modern and cozy. Nice outdoor patio on 2nd floor if you want to sit in the shade and have a glass of wine or read. The hotel is also filled with great information and old pics not only of Buffalo, but of what was happening historical-archival info, etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Interesting building, something different than staying at a typical hotel. Nice washroom layout, comfortable bed, good location, nice valet parking guy. If you're looking for a change I would recommend this hotel. Walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars, and to the Canalside and Marine Museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Historic meets Modern

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Architecture, layout, staff, design, food, coffee, location, price.
Location: Great location. Moments walk from local bars and restaurants, a few blocks from the water and the ball field. Minutes drive from other attractions.
The lobby of this hotel is from a different time with amazing art deco features but with a modern twist. Could not be more lovely. The room was amazing, beautifully laid out, comfortable and clean. Had a great bar/restaurant with local beer on tap on the first floor and an amazing coffee shop in the lobby with tasty treats for breakfast. We wandered around and saw there were a lot of options for event rooms that were absolutely stunning. Highly recommend this place. Will absolutely be staying there again. Wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Cute boutique hotel in downtown area

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Very nice coffee shop, cool furniture in room and common areas Could improve the gym a little
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Disappointing

Posted Aug 22, 2017
I wish I could say that I enjoyed my experience here, but I was never allowed to check in. The hotel has a policy of only allowing those 21 and over to check in, which I think is absolutely ridiculous. I prepaid in advance and arrived around 7 at night for my check in, when the staff member, her name was Brittany, refused my reservation. I understand that the hotel has a right to do this according to their policies, but this left me without a hotel for the next 2 nights, virtually stranded. The staff member did ensure I received a refund, but she made no effort to try to find me another hotel. In essence, I was turned away with nowhere to go. If this is the hotel's policy, they should make it more clear. Even aside from that, however, how is it that I can live alone in New York City, but I could not check into this hotel? Ridiculous policy, unhelpful staff.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Excellent stay!

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
I loved the junior suite! Clean, newly remodeled and tastefully decorated. The separate walk-up bedroom and large bathroom were great. The staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas

Romantic old school buffalo hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Love this hotel!! The old school feeling you give you. Rooms are amazing and clean. Well worth the $$ for the stay