Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Beautiful old hotel with modern amenities and exceptionally nice rooms. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Free breakfast buffet included in price of room with both hot and cold options. Close to a lot of downtown Buffalo attractions. Parking in the garage next door is free on the weekends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Very happy and would stay again. Would also recommend to others. Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Location: There are you happy...Quit bugging me for review.
Check in time is too late and they are to able to figure out an early checkin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

The "New" Lafayette: Great Concept but Needs Work

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The room, the location, the potential.
Cons: The amenities, the parking situation, general upkeep of the property outside of the guest rooms.
Location: All kinds of stuff in easy walking distance: restaurants/local microbreweries, very cool Naval museum, Riverwalk/Canalside/Hockey arena... much more!
I haven't lived in Buffalo for 38 years but it's still the hometown of my heart and I visit frequently. I stayed here 1 night because I was curious to see if my hometown's resurgence has really extended to revive this historic building. The room itself was great. The bathroom was one of the nicest for a hotel in this price range. The gas fireplace in the room, a great touch. The staff - the hotel seemed understaffed to me - were pleasant and helpful. You can appreciate the beauty of the old tap room and some of the other dining facilities. The location is great - easy walking distance to many attractions, old and new, in a revitalizing downtown. There's potential for the Lafayette to again become a civic crown jewel. But at 10 pm Thursday that tap room was empty. Here's why: Compared to most business-class hotels I've stayed in, there's still a lot of work to do. The decor outside of the dining areas themselves need TLC. Free breakfast was not as nice as what I've experienced at most Hampton Inn-class facilities. There's no self-parking - a $20 valet service parked my car in a lot. The fitness facility was tucked between the kitchen & some other service room - it smelled bad. If you're visiting Buffalo, I want you to be as excited about the city as I am. So unless you're simply curious, I'd recommend a different place; there are many nicer and more "happening" places to stay than here. Maybe with more time and money, the necessary improvements will take place here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. All guest reviews help us to improve our property and customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glens Falls, NY

Nice Downtown Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The Room was very well done over and we were very comfortable/
Cons: Helpful information in our room on the hotel amenties would be very helpful and a quiet dining arrangement within the hotel would also be appreciated
Location: It is in downtown Buffalo and there is plenty to do and see. A little better visibility for the Valet Parking on the street would be helpful too.
This is an excellent downtown Buffalo hotel. It is old-school in outward appearance but wow- were we impressed with the way the room had been brought up to current conditions and appearances. Very nice and a very comfortable stay. The staff was pleasant and well informed. We were a little let down in the type of onsite food available and also the lack of a Hotel Information booklet or brochure in our room. We did have dinner in the bar attached to the hotel the first night we were there and the food was very nice. However, bar-type dinners are not our nightly thing at this point in our lives and a much quieter restaurant would be nice to have available too. Or, perhaps a reference to a local restaurant in the same general area would have been helpful. As noted, a facility book would have been helpful in our room. Overall, it was a very nice stay and we would recommend it to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. All guest reviews aid in our customer service and satisfaction. We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hattiesburg, MS

Room not efficient. Breakfast was a disappointment

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Nothing to brag about. It is downtown. Staff was adequate. Room was lacking on furniture and chairs were uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. So sorry the breakfast with disappointment to you, we will address this with our staff. Hope to see you again soon
5 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guelph

Loved this hotel!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The style
Cons: Downtown Buffalo but that's not the hotels fault.
Location: Cool little place to get drinks two blocks up the road, teahouse it's called?
Beautiful old art decco style hotel in the downtown core, everything about it was awesome. Would love to find an excuse to stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Cool hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Booked at the Lafayette due to attending a wedding at the venue. Cool building, old elements mixed with the new. The gentleman who checked us in may have been new, as he needed some assistance from another young lady who seemed to have a clue about our reservation. Other than that, all in all good stay. The room was beautiful, the separate living space with fireplace was really nice. Wedding was really fun, dinner food was okay, but the finger food at cocktail hour was delicious, along with the vast drink selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Charming hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I stayed here for a wedding. The room was awesome, staff were friendly, great location. The coffee place in the lobby was amazing.