Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Interesting building, something different than staying at a typical hotel. Nice washroom layout, comfortable bed, good location, nice valet parking guy. If you're looking for a change I would recommend this hotel. Walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars, and to the Canalside and Marine Museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Historic meets Modern

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Architecture, layout, staff, design, food, coffee, location, price.
Location: Great location. Moments walk from local bars and restaurants, a few blocks from the water and the ball field. Minutes drive from other attractions.
The lobby of this hotel is from a different time with amazing art deco features but with a modern twist. Could not be more lovely. The room was amazing, beautifully laid out, comfortable and clean. Had a great bar/restaurant with local beer on tap on the first floor and an amazing coffee shop in the lobby with tasty treats for breakfast. We wandered around and saw there were a lot of options for event rooms that were absolutely stunning. Highly recommend this place. Will absolutely be staying there again. Wonderful experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Disappointing

Posted Aug 22, 2017
I wish I could say that I enjoyed my experience here, but I was never allowed to check in. The hotel has a policy of only allowing those 21 and over to check in, which I think is absolutely ridiculous. I prepaid in advance and arrived around 7 at night for my check in, when the staff member, her name was Brittany, refused my reservation. I understand that the hotel has a right to do this according to their policies, but this left me without a hotel for the next 2 nights, virtually stranded. The staff member did ensure I received a refund, but she made no effort to try to find me another hotel. In essence, I was turned away with nowhere to go. If this is the hotel's policy, they should make it more clear. Even aside from that, however, how is it that I can live alone in New York City, but I could not check into this hotel? Ridiculous policy, unhelpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Moldy smell throughout the building. Beautiful architecture. Terrible coffee. No parking. Nice and helpful breakfast server.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Beautiful Hotel with History

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Love this place! It's beautiful and nice restaurants and shopping is walking distance
5 out of 5
by Maria

Getaway

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Love this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The hotel was quite large and took up a whole city block. The room I had was very big, comfortable, and clean. The fireplace was a nice touch. I didn't like Buffalo at all but the hotel was great.
5 out of 5
by Frank

Great hotel in Buffalo

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful suite. Excellent
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel very historic a bit of outside noise comfortable rooms walking distance to everything
4 out of 5
by Lex

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
A small bar fridge would of been handy.