Ratings based on 527 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Really beautiful and stylish hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2018
My husband and I loved this hotel! Stylish, beautiful and historically intriguing. The breakfast was amazing. Enjoyed my stay!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to Key Bank Center

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Beautiful and spacious room. Loved the Junior Suite with separate sitting area.
Location: Pearl St. Brewery . We like to stay here when we see a Sabres game.
Beautiful hotel with great accommodations - free Valet and breakfast. Great bar and spacious area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoy our hotel when you are in town. Hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Historic hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Historic hotel which first opened in 1904. Remodeled rooms feature modern furnishings with one wall covered with an interesting b & w photo from the world’s fair held in Buffalo in 1901. Basic amenities are included in the room. Great coffee shop, The Public, in the lobby downstairs. Overall a pleasant place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by Nicole- AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Hope to service you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo New York

Off night

Posted Jan 23, 2018
I’ve stayed here before and loved it. The heater was broken A LOUD noise ran all night long and there was AN EYELASH STRIP in my bed! Barf. The next day the front desk was extremely nice and apologetic. Usually this place is great I want to think they are having an off night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2018 by Nicole- AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you far your return stay with us! We do apologize that your stay with us this time was not up to your expectations. We are pleased that the front desk staff was able to provide a pleasant experience. In the future please let us know directly should you be returning so we may make sure your stay is satisfactory!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2018
I stayed in a king Bethune suite. The shower would lose water pressure when turned up warmer. The room was towards the front of the building where valet and people were getting in and out of their cars. They were loud until nearly 1am keeping me up. Was surprised no mini fridge or even mini bar in this over priced suite. Overall, not pleased with being and for that would not stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate. I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. The suite you did stay in doesn't have the kitchen amenities but our other suites due if you are looking for that. Also since we are downtown it can get a little noise at night on the weekends but we would be more than happy to place you on the opposite end of the building if you come back and stay with us. Thank You
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Rough around the edges, but pretty good

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: Good location
Cons: Better lighting in the hallways
Location: Close to KeyBank Centere, Dunn Tire Park
Old building, looks a bit gloomy in the hallways, but room was clean and couldn't have asked for anything better. Good place to stay if going to the hockey game which is what we did. Continental breakfast in the morning was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it! Hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Enjoyed our stay. No complaints. Staff was friendly, informative and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

A step back in time

Posted Jan 7, 2018
What an amazing property. Our trip to Buffalo was a last minute decision on a busy sports weekend so a lot of the usual suspects were fully booked. Happy to say that this hotel will now be at the top of my list whenever I visit Buffalo. The architecture and history of this building is so well preserved yet the rooms are tastefully modernized. We were very impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

Disappointing-Very tired Hotel/Apartment

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: The character of the old building would be very nice once refurbished.
Cons: De or, lighting, furnishings, wallpaper etc.
Location: Chose location as close proximity to Key Bank Center. Is about 1 mile. Commuter Train to arena is close by. Good thing. No cabs available.
Was expecting a nice hotel room, not a full apartment with fridge, stove, dishwasher etc., which we did not need as we were staying for one night for a hockey game. Queen bed was very uncomfortable. No King’s available as will not fit in the small bedrooms. Hotel is tired in need of refurbishing. Dirty carpeting. Poor lighting. Old furniture. Breakfast to be included, but no food left at buffet tables, and no staff in sight to refill. Left hotel to eat elsewhere at our expense.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. I am sorry the hotel was not what you expected, we do offer smaller hotel rooms if you would be interested in a smaller room but we do have suites like you stayed in. Thank you again for your feedback, we take all feedback to help us to improve our property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Body hair + foul smelling stains.

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Aesthetic and layout of room were good. Front desk + valet were great... welcoming greeting.
Cons: Cleaniness!! Was very excited to stay at cute boutique hotel... ended up being very disappointing.
Front desk service was good - friendly and welcoming. Wrinkly stained sheets + duvet cover, as well as hair found in the bed... gave the impression that the linens weren't changed prior to check in. Body hair also found in bath tub. Found a dirty bath towel folded up with what resembled to be a coffee stain. Aesthetic and layout of hotel room were pleasing however cleanliness was another question. Might stay again if desperate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Kristina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. I am so sorry that you experienced cleanliness issues while you were here with us, I will make sure I let the proper department know about this so it does not happen again. Again thank you for your feedback and so sorry about the inconvenience of the cleanliness.