Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guelph

Loved this hotel!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The style
Cons: Downtown Buffalo but that's not the hotels fault.
Location: Cool little place to get drinks two blocks up the road, teahouse it's called?
Beautiful old art decco style hotel in the downtown core, everything about it was awesome. Would love to find an excuse to stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Cool hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Booked at the Lafayette due to attending a wedding at the venue. Cool building, old elements mixed with the new. The gentleman who checked us in may have been new, as he needed some assistance from another young lady who seemed to have a clue about our reservation. Other than that, all in all good stay. The room was beautiful, the separate living space with fireplace was really nice. Wedding was really fun, dinner food was okay, but the finger food at cocktail hour was delicious, along with the vast drink selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Charming hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I stayed here for a wedding. The room was awesome, staff were friendly, great location. The coffee place in the lobby was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Great hotel with nice room. Loved having a full kitchen in the one bedroom suite. My only complaint is the breakfast is blah. It would have been nice to have something different each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Historic Hotel with Character

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Old World character, soundproof rooms>
Cons: Check-in process.
Location: Great location, close to Key Bank Ceter, Coca-Cola Field, Main Street, etc.
We enjoyed our 2 day stay at the hotel, which was conveniently located in downtown Buffalo, close to many places that we wanted to visit. the only problem we experienced was at check-in, when they accidentally assigned us to a room where guests were already staying and we embarrassingly walked in on them. they quickly found us another room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smokey nightmare

Posted Oct 2, 2017
When we arrived staff was great! I was upgraded to a king bed room. Later when we had to move from that room due to marijuana being smoked in the room next door we were downgraded back to the queen. No remote for fireplace. Bed was rock hard. Walls paper thin. Cigarette burns on nightstand. Just an awful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buffalo ny

Beautiful renovation!! Stunning

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Was the best ever in a respects!!went to a wedding. Food was excellent!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice location, large and clean room, quiet

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Front desk people were nice and friendly. Excellent location It really worth what you pay -
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting place, close to all, good coffee

Posted Sep 25, 2017
I only stayed for one night, room was spacious, no fridge, but had a fireplace which was nice. Hallway to my room was a bit long and creepy, and there was a thumping noise on my ceiling early morning like someone dropping something heavy. One of the vanity lights was out so made it dark in the bathroom area. the modern shower with no door caused a lot of water to splash onto the floor in the bathroom. Coffee however was delicious and strong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Lafayette Great for a weekend getaway in the city

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Architecture, Historical, Décor, Location, Price, Staff
Cons: The breakfast buffet wasn't great quality food (but it was free, so what more can expect?) Pre packaged eggs and frozen hash browns, stale cereal, etc
Location: One block from LRT train, located right downtown, easy to drive around, or walk to water front
Staff was great with the exception of one who did not seem to know much about Canalside and what it had to offer, nor whether it was park-like (it is, btw). Otherwise they were very informative and friendly. I would skip the complimentary breakfast buffet unless you are starving to death-food was not good. Instead have a coffee and pastry in the lobby café, and enjoy the Art Deco beauty of the lobby itself. Our junior suite was perfect-size, décor very in keeping with the Art Deco period of architecture/design but modern and cozy. Nice outdoor patio on 2nd floor if you want to sit in the shade and have a glass of wine or read. The hotel is also filled with great information and old pics not only of Buffalo, but of what was happening historical-archival info, etc