Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Moldy smell throughout the building. Beautiful architecture. Terrible coffee. No parking. Nice and helpful breakfast server.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The hotel was quite large and took up a whole city block. The room I had was very big, comfortable, and clean. The fireplace was a nice touch. I didn't like Buffalo at all but the hotel was great.
4 out of 5
by Lex

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
A small bar fridge would of been handy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ON

Cute gem in Buffalo!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Room size, room cleanliness, friendly staff.
Cons: None!
Location: We ate dinner at the restaurant attached to the hotel. The food was delicious, and the portions were big.
We were in town for a concert at the KeyBank Centre, and truthfully I originally booked this hotel because it was lower priced than others in the area. What a pleasant surprise to check in and find ourselves at an adorable hotel, super close to the venue AND with a generous sized room!! The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, including advising us as to which local restaurants would deliver pizza and other yummy food direct to our room after the show! The building is beautiful and the hallways and rooms are spacious. Our room had a king sized bed that was ridiculously comfortable, and a sparkly clean bathroom. We were an $8 cab ride to the arena, making this hotel a great spot to stay for concerts or sporting events. After the concert, we decided to just walk back to the hotel and it was quick and easy. I would absolutely stay here again, and won't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, minor complaints.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
In town for a concert at the Key Bank Center. Location was great and it's nice to have a bar/brewery on site. The historic nature of the building is fun. The breakfast was not very good - would rather see a bit cheaper price without the breakfast included. Also could do without the extra cost ($20) for parking.
4 out of 5
by Catherine

Valet parking cost $20

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
I chose this hotel because it had valet parking. There was no mention of a fee so when I arrived, I was told it would be $20 fee (plus I'm sure that a tip was expected on top of that). I didn't want to spend that much so had to go and find my own parking. Having driven 7 hours that day, it was not a nice welcome. Our room was very cold and we tried to put on the fireplace but it didn't work. There were teabags and coffee but no milk. No fridge in the room either, which most hotels have these days. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable the room clean and the breakfast next morning was really nice with a lot of choice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Disappointed

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Great location, near downtown Buffalo attractions. Very comfortable bed. Nice books on the bookshelves. Free newspaper. Big (lukewarm) breakfast.
Cons: Don't advertise 1) you have a fireplace when it's a cheap artificial one; 2) that the bedding is hypoallergenic when it is NOT. Lighten up the paint!
Location: Near many restaurants. Near the trolley line which takes you down to Canalside, the arena, or uptown to other attractions.
A friend suggested this place was as good as the Hyatt but with more character. NOT! The bed was comfortable and the junior suite was a good size, but I can not recommend this place, especially for the price. We looked forward to the advertised "fireplace," but were disappointed that it was one of those cheap lighted things with a piece of fabric that simulates flame. The walls were painted battleship gray. The windows looked out on to a gloomy patio and the interior four walls of the building, so the overall effect was quite depressing. The windows did not lock: there were lock mechanisms on the bottom of sash, but not the top, which was disconcerting. In addition, this also allowed the top sash to drop slightly, which meant that there was a constant rushing sound of air escaping which sounded like traffic, although there was no traffic. There was a bad smell in the bathroom that at first we thought was the water, but it turned out to be coming from the sink drain. Finally, although the bed was very comfortable, it was advertised as "hypoallergenic." My wife has asthma, so this was a big selling feature. In fact, although the covers may have been hypoallergenic (maybe), the mattress cover was not, and in fact did not completely cover the mattress, which is where a lot of allergens gather. In addition, two giant brown upholstered pillows were laid against the sleeping pillows. Besides being allergen traps, they were filled with feathers. VERY ALLERGENIC and ugly as well.
5 out of 5
by Lana

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for a wedding at the hotel it was just beautiful awesome food and great service all the way around I will stay again even if there is no wedding or event thank you
5 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels