Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi

So noisy

Posted Dec 9, 2017
At the beginning, they told me no room avilable ...then after so much argument they gave me a room.. I did not sleep well due to some maintenance. The room furniture is very old and the air filters are filled with dust and dirt. Also, the Hotel did not respond to my claim that i orderd a room with breakfast, so i paid more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HaveVisited50Countries

5 Star Property, 2 Star Bathroom, VERY Strange>

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Everything but the shower (see above)...
Cons: The shower design...
Location: Nile embankment (and view), Egyptian Museum, Tahrir Square, American University, American & British Embassies very close by...
This hotel is a very nice place to stay except for one very ODD (and disappointing) detail. TERRIFIC (and convenient) location!... Terrific and pleasant staff... A 4 1/2 star hotel except for... The bathroom (or at least the one I was in in room 1505)... I'm 6'1", a bit north of 210 pounds... The shower (bathtub) layout was the most uncomfortable and annoying shower I have been in since the 1970's (truly, no exaggeration)... One shoulder touched the wall of the shower, the other shoulder the shower curtain (which, of course, stuck to you as soon as you turned on the water). Height of the shower was probably 7 feet... These (three) "aspects" of the shower would have been tolerable, however someone got the bright idea to install a VERY LARGE "security bar" on the wall virtually n the middle of the tub running vertically so you had to stand directly under the shower head or at the rear of the tub and have only half the water discharged reach you. You literally could not stand in the middle of the tub - where you would in any other shower anywhere else in the world - unless you wanted to stand sideways in the shower... For an "Intercontinental" hotel to have this kind of shower set-up is hard to understand. A Motel 6 in Galveston, Texas, probably has a better (and more comfortable) shower configuration... Strange...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Sameh Fouad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reviews.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Friendly staff

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We had a lovely view of the nile. Room was a good size, complimentary water put in the rooms every day. Complimentary toiletries were very nice, lemon fragrance. Good choice of restaurants and cafes in the hotel. Breakfast very good with a wide range of choice. The hotel is Walking distance to Egyptian Museum and a 45 min car ride to pyramids. Cairo is very noisy and the traffic is heavy, crossing the road is scary. Staff were very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Mina Moneer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to welcome you in the near Future again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Good Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, generally very clean room, and good breakfast.
Cons: Room furniture are fixtures are old and in some disrepair. Very dated facilities.
Location: Great location in the middle of the city and two blocks or so from the national museum.
Location is excellent in the heart of the city - next to Tahrir Square and just across the walkable bridge to Zamalek Island. The hotel staff are for the most part are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good although nothing to write home about. The rooms are dated and somewhat old, and in need of renovation and repair. My room cleanliness was great, Overall a grade of B+
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Sameh Fouad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

A hotel on the Nile

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Point by point: 1) while on the Nile, it is not the best , walkable part. 2) staff dont seem to understand profesionalism - always deeply engrossed in their private discussions in the restaurants, the lobby, in hallways - ignoring hotel guests. 3) bathtub truly very narrow. The space was even more restricted b/c of grabrails installed on the wall! 4) Everytime i ordered room service or laundry pickup the staff took ages to come. A sanwich was promised in 10 mins but took 30 mins. 5) the laundry staff smelled of cigarette smoke. 6) the room linen smelled of cig smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. 7) the lobby always gave me a headache b/c of so many people smoking there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Sameh Fouad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Great stay

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great location, excellent friendly staff and clean facilities. The hotel is suitable for everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Sameh Fouad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Good location with nice views of the Nile river.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Older hotel located near the Nile and the museum. The hotel is not very clean; not what one would expect from an intercontinental. Nice breakfast buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Sameh Fouad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Great staff. Excellent food. Good value for money. I would visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Sameh Fouad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Very good hotel, beautifull room with excellent view to the nile, best location available. In room dining is a bit overpriced and not so good. Very good breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita Kansas

Staff comes to the rescue

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great place, no hesitation and booking one of my clients here. My girlfriend left her passport in the taxi cab from Cairo airport to the hotel. The staff took over and had her book back in less than 3 hours while we went to Giza. Stay here.