Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

Old and uncomfortable

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Orbitz
I did not enjoy my stay at Hacienda De Castillo. Although based on the price I knew it would not be fancy, it did not provide what it said it had. The wifi did not work, and the only reason I had hot water in my shower was because my room was located close to the boiler. My friends did not have hot water. When we complained about it they said they would turn the boiler temperature up. So they were completely aware some rooms were not receiving hot water! The room was clean, but it was run down. The bed spread on my bed looked liked it was from 1970 and the towels were so worn down there was nothing left to them. I was not comfortable sleeping at night. There was only a sheet, although even if there was a blanket I'm not sure I would have used it, so I was cold with the air conditioning unit on and got with air conditioning unit off. I felt like the mattress was a very old spring mattress. We booked 8 nights and moved out after 4 nights. The manager was not kind or helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
the hotel is clean, not expensive but the furniture is little old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice

Posted May 26, 2017 on Orbitz
After staying here over eight times in the past 5 years I'm dissaponted. Recently my 4 year old wet the bed and I was charged $600 pesos for this and moved to another upper room. I complain to the manager Diego about this charge but he had all kind of excuses. Two days later had to move out of the room due to a faulty air condition. The next room the air condition would only blow strong cold air and had to be shut off. Mosquitos would not let us sleep I requested that the room be fumigated.
4 out of 5
by brian from canada

great

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
awesome staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phila. Pa

Bad area

Posted May 3, 2017
The taxi driver informed me that the area was way too dangerous. He said we don't go in that area at all. So my life was put in danger by booking this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Jacob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

very poor residential area

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Orbitz
room was tiny, did not look like pictures. its located in the middle of a EXTREMELY poor residential area. The food from room service is disgusting. we didnt eat it. we ended up throwing it away and ordered pizza from dominoes! water takes 20 minutes to get hot. so plan your showers accordingly. we will not be staying here EVER again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Quiet hotel in the outskirts of Cancun

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel is a 15 minute taxi ride to the Hotel Zone and a 10 minute ride to the ADO bus station. The location is in the outskirts of the city, with not much around. The hotel has a restaurant next to the lobby that has excellent food (especially the spicy chicken wings). This is a good place to stay if you prefer somewhere quieter and cheaper than the hotel zone. The receptionist Mario spoke very good English and was very helpful in answering our questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great staff

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Lovely staff, rooms were dated but very clean. Restaurant was ok, but convenient. Neighbourhood a bit dodgy. Overall a decent place to rest your head for a couple nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from AK

Good hotel for the money

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It is good hotel for the money. They lock the gates and doors for the night - which is good for the downtown Cancun.
Cons: The room can be better cleaned before guests arrive. Once you there they clean it fairly well.
Location: The location gives you lots of shopping options for the budget. It is in the walking distance to local bus system.
It is good hotel for the money you pay. It can be better, but it is good for the price range. The location is not for everybody. The hotel is located in the area where locals live. It was not easy to find it.