Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I did not stay there after I saw the property

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Terrible. Nothing like photos. Rooms were disgusting and stunk bad. Looked liked no one cleaned them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

it was ok...

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Everything was good except that no elevator, so you had to take it up by hand, we didn’t get any help from the staff w/ our luggage.. also hot water in our room took a long time or didn’t get any at all. The area is not all that pretty so becare at night.. give it a 3 out of 5.. oh yea it’s a little out date need a upgrade n some color to white lol..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

It is in downtown, close to the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: they offer free breakfast
Cons: WIFI hot water small fridge and microwave
Location: in downtown. nothing in walking distance. You need a car.
Hot water is shutoff during the day, little warm at night. Parking is very limited location is in small ally in poor neighborhood WIFI is very week, you have to place your phone at the window to get it no fridge or microwave, no laundry facility
3 out of 5
by Barry

Slightly shaby motel

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
This was my final night in Mexico before flying home from Cancun airport and probably the least satisfying place I stayed in. There was nothing badly wrong with the place, it just felt like a motel which had seen better days. When the TV remote and AirCon control are handed to you at reception and have to be returned on checkout and when you are given a wristband which they are keen to remove from you as you leave, you wonder what their other clientele are like. It was worth noting all the other guests appeared to be Mexican rather than foreign. Nothing wrong in that, but not really a tourist hotel. The room was OK and clean but it clearly hadn't been refurbished for a while. The pool was somewhere to get wet and cool down. There were 5 WiFi options; one eventually worked. The surrounding area has little to offer. I went out to find somewhere to eat and struggled to find a restaurant. To be fair there was a restaurant in the hotel which I could have used but I had hoped to see a bit of Cancun on my last night. If I'd had a car it would have been easier. I enquired about breakfast but the restaurant didn't open until 7am, by which time I had to be at the airport. I was able to phone down and order a taxi to the airport with only 10 minutes notice. It cost 350 pesos which I had to give to the hotel rather than the taxi driver, which I found odd.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

Old and uncomfortable

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Orbitz
I did not enjoy my stay at Hacienda De Castillo. Although based on the price I knew it would not be fancy, it did not provide what it said it had. The wifi did not work, and the only reason I had hot water in my shower was because my room was located close to the boiler. My friends did not have hot water. When we complained about it they said they would turn the boiler temperature up. So they were completely aware some rooms were not receiving hot water! The room was clean, but it was run down. The bed spread on my bed looked liked it was from 1970 and the towels were so worn down there was nothing left to them. I was not comfortable sleeping at night. There was only a sheet, although even if there was a blanket I'm not sure I would have used it, so I was cold with the air conditioning unit on and got with air conditioning unit off. I felt like the mattress was a very old spring mattress. We booked 8 nights and moved out after 4 nights. The manager was not kind or helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
the hotel is clean, not expensive but the furniture is little old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice

Posted May 26, 2017 on Orbitz
After staying here over eight times in the past 5 years I'm dissaponted. Recently my 4 year old wet the bed and I was charged $600 pesos for this and moved to another upper room. I complain to the manager Diego about this charge but he had all kind of excuses. Two days later had to move out of the room due to a faulty air condition. The next room the air condition would only blow strong cold air and had to be shut off. Mosquitos would not let us sleep I requested that the room be fumigated.
4 out of 5
by brian from canada

great

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
awesome staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phila. Pa

Bad area

Posted May 3, 2017
The taxi driver informed me that the area was way too dangerous. He said we don't go in that area at all. So my life was put in danger by booking this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Jacob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels