Ratings based on 772 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Hotel but Do Not Stay on 3rd Floor

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This hotel was great location and great staff, but no one warned us about staying on the 3rd floor! The hotel has a "rooftop" bar just off of the 3rd floor. Unfortunately, the only way to access the rooftop bar is through the regular elevators located on our floor and right next to our room. That being said, we heard everyone coming and going from the bar at all hours of the night (rowdy crowds and running up and down the floor). If we knew about this ahead of time, we would have asked to move rooms and change to a different floor. I'm sure you can imagine the crowds on a Friday and Saturday night. We didn't get any sleep and had to be up at 7:00 AM for our flight home. Otherwise, the hotel is a nice facility, clean and has a great shuttle to go downtown to the historic district.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brett, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. Our goal is to provide a comfortable night's rest. We are sorry that your sleep was disrupted by noise from other guests and that we weren't able to fix the issue to your satisfaction. Your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your business and hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you the hospitality you deserved on this visit. Sincerely, Charles Moore Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Hotel was very nice, the bathroom in my room could use updating
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the time you took to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us. Please accept our apologies, as it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way. We do our best to maintain high standards, and apologize if we fell short. We will address your concerns with our management regarding future upgrades of our bathrooms so that your experience is more pleasant in the future. Thank you again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Charles Moore Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Xiomara

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Dear Xiomara, thank you for making the Charleston Marriott a part of your travel plans. We are so happy you had a great night's rest and that you were overall satisfied with your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Charles Moore, Hotel Manager, Charleston Marriott
3 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
The bed was uncomfortable and the price is too high
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We're sorry you felt what you paid for the room did not support your accommodations. We regularly review our rates to stay competitive with other full service hotels, and we will follow up with our Revenue Management team to make sure we are at the right pricing. Please note, we do not charge for parking like many area hotels do, and we offer convenient shuttle service to downtown shopping and restaurants as a value-added option. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you whenever you return to the area. Sincerely, Charles Moore Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Great hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Great hotel, clean room, great pool and great staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your stay and for sharing your experience. We were pleased to read that you loved our courteous staff and all the facilities we have to offer. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Charles Moore Hotel Manager Charleston Marriott
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Vacation

Posted Jun 1, 2017
We traveled to Myrtle beach for vacation. But didn't realize it was bike week and we were looking for something more peaceful and relaxing. So we decided to drive to Charleston looking for some serenity. We were lucky to have found the Marriott. It was unfortunate we couldn't have stay there from the beginning. It would have made our vacation a blast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your vacation stay and for sharing your experience. It is a pleasure to read that you had a great time with us. We appreciate your kind comments. Please come and see us again soon! Sincerely, Charles Moore, Hotel Manager, Charleston Marriott
4 out of 5
by ronni s

Fine except for the musty smell

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
We stay here often when we visit Charleston. This time the room had a musty smell. We were on the fifth floor. The breakfast buffet was good, and not unreasonable at $15 (omelettes, pancakes and waffles were made to order).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Dear Ronni, thanks so much for making us your home away from home for all your trips to Charleston. We are glad we met most of your expectations, except for the inconvenience you had with the smell in your room. Your concern will be addressed to the respective team for immediate review and action. We appreciate your consistent support and look forward to your next stay at the Charleston Marriott. Sincerely, Charles Moore, Hotel Manager, Charleston Marriott
5 out of 5
by Betty

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Dear Betty, thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your stay. I am pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and you had a wonderful visit. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Charles Moore, Hotel Manager, Charleston Marriott
5 out of 5
by Alexandra

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Alexandra, thank you for choosing the Charleston Marriott for your stay and for sharing your experience. I am pleased to know that we exceeded your satisfaction. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.  Sincerely, Charles Moore Hotel Manager Charleston Marriott
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Great staff and clean. Updates needed soon.

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, conveniently located, clean and well-maintained. Some of the fixtures and furnishings were near the end of their life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Christopher, I appreciate you taking the time to post your review of the Charleston Marriott. We are pleased to know you loved our outstanding service and the location made your stay enjoyable. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Charles Moore, Hotel Manager, Charleston Marriott