Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC USA

Perfect stay - highly recommend!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: My room was quiet and the bedding was very comfortable. I slept just as well here as I would sleep in my own home!
Cons: Nothing. Perfect stay, all 13 days!
Location: Centrally located. Walk to everything.
This beautiful hotel is family owned and operated. Perfectly located, tastefully renovated and furnished with antiques. The staff is excellent and they always helped me to feel welcome. The beds are comfortable, there is plenty of hot water, the wi-fi is fast and reliable,and the whole place is impeccably clean. The breakfasts are not to be missed! I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Douglas

Charm, beauty and comfort

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel provided us with the best stay during our 5 weeks of travel in Equador. Originally a family home now transformed in to a beautiful hotel that holds all the charm of Cuenca. If you book somewhere else you will miss the best! Perfectly located, the owner went out of his way to accommodate us and helped with additional bookings at our next location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Breakfast is incredible. New choices each morning with fresh fruits, fruit juices, smashed avocado toast and waffles. Very yummy.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: In the heart of the historic district - perfect!
This boutique hotel is marvelous! The owner and staff are so wonderful, they made us feel like family. The hotel is charming (very old world) and the location can’t be beat. We would not have been made to feel more welcome. I would recommend Casa Ordonez in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colleyville, TX

Short walk to the city center/town square.

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, friendly staff, family owned, no language barriers as owners and most staff are bilingual (English & Spanish)
Convenient short walk to the city center/town square. Safe area. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Friendly attentive staff. Various breakfast choices available, all were excellent and included with the room rate. Very quiet at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wonderful Colonial home from home

Posted Dec 3, 2016
This is not your typical cookie cutter hotel....... its a chance to experience life in a tastefully restored Colonial home. Each room is unique as are the mostly antique furnishings. What makes this place really special though is the friendliness of the staff and the owners, who truly go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south carolina

wonderful hotel with easy walk to historic sites.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: easy access to all historical sites, cleanliness, quiet and peaceful.
Cons: Everything was excellant
Location: centrally located- walk to all historic sites and restaurants.
Run by a wonderful family whose priority each day is to help guests in any way. It's not only a peaceful place to rest, but a real heartwarming experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Wonderful place to stay in Cuenca.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: My room was immaculate and I really enjoyed the peaceful environment. This hotel is run by a wonderful family and they all treated me so nicely and made my stay very special.
Cons: I have No complaints about anything. So I can't add more in this area.
Location: Centrally located with a 5-10 minute walk to all of the historical sites and many restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Peterborough, Ontario

What a deal !

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: It's in a great location, only 2 and 1/2 blocks from the central park and it is so interesting !.
Location: Do not miss the new cathedral. It is one of the largest in Latin America and the altar is modeled on St. Peters in Rome. Take the tour of the crypt.
I travel to World Heritage Sites and I like to stay in the downtown areas where I can walk to historical buildings and sites. Casa Ordonez is a beautifully restored 1890's home with about 10 rooms to rent. Alberto, an owner along with his wife Diana and sister Maria, is a super, friendly host who forced me to use my Spanish even though he speaks perfect English, because he knew that improving my Spanish was a goal of mine. When I left, after 5 days, I considered him to be not just a host but also a friend. He takes great pride in his restored home which his grandfather purchased. This is not a place for someone just seeking luxury. It is a place for those looking for something really interesting. It does of course have modern facilities such as high speed Wi Fi in your room, a flat screen TV, and a small but modern bathroom with lots of hot water in the shower. It is a bit cool because the ceilings in the place are about 16 to 20 feet high and consequently I think it would be almost impossible to heat. But just plan for that. Wear a warm sweater and you'll be fine. If you want old and very interesting you have to compromise. They also serve really nice breakfasts as part of the package, and the price per night, including taxes, is less than half of what I'd have to pay in Canada. What a deal !.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully restored gem in El Centro Historico

Posted Aug 14, 2016
This historic hotel got an award for best renovation and you can see why. They've done a beautiful job with each room. They've put a lot of thought into small things to contribute to guests' comfort. Despite the fact that the street out front was being torn up when we were there, the extra window insulation made it quiet enough for an afternoon nap. The staff are very thoughtful & they give you a nice breakfast. Thumbs up!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Everyone was so very helpful. The location worked well for our walking vacation in Cuenca. Nice having breakfast and bottled water provided. Facilities were old, but clean and charming.