Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Nice accommodations. Very friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast lacked of variety

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The beautiful view we had from the balcony
Cons: Better attention from the staff
Location: The park, churches
I chose the hotel by mistake, the hotel itself was beautiful. Was very happy with security the only concern I had was with the breakfast and part of the staff. At the breakfast area there was no one to take care of our needs, not enough food to choose from. Can't say anything about the diner because we never ate there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel in a convenient location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The location and the helpful staff.
Location: Close to many cathedrals, churches, small museums, restaurants and the square.
A quaint hotel conveniently located in the historic district in Cuenca. Clean accommodations, friendly and helpful staff, and nice breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Old World charm in the heart of Cuenca

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Everything is in walking distance. If you like to walk, you can go from one side of the city to the other in an hour or so.
We spent a wonderful week at Los Balcones and would absolutely recommend it. Stepping into the hotel is like stepping into another era. It is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. We stayed in habatacion 11 which overlooks the intersection of Presidente Borrero and Gaspar Sangurima. The balcony affords a view of the beautiful blue domes of the Cathedral of The Immaculate Conception and the surrounding green mountains. The bed is fabulous, the bathroom is beautiful, and the shower is AMAZING! The restaurant, Sole Mio, located in the courtyard is elegant and the food is fantastic. We are looking forward to dining there when we return to live in Cuenca in a few months. Breakfast, which is served on the upper balcony, features delicious omelets, local fruits, empanadas, salchicha, pancakes, café, and more. We had breakfast there every day and enjoyed the conviviality of the staff. Having said this, what makes Hotel Los Balcones a most pleasurable experience is the people: Paolo, Henry, Alvaro, Santiago, and Jonathan. They were tremendously helpful in every way, from making our stay wonderful to helping us navigate this beautiful city. They also allowed us to use our fractured Spanish while teaching us the proper usage along the way. We apologize to the rest of the staff whose names we did not get, but who also make Los Balcones a fantastic experience. Desmion & William
5 out of 5
by Mark

Great service

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing service in a charming hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW France

Historic and convenient

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Lovely old colonial hotel, traditionally furnished. Amazing shower, great breakfast and lovely , helpful staff. 7 mins walk from centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Henry, Hotel Management
We appreciate you choosing our hotel, during your stay in the beautiful city of Cuenca. It will be a pleasure serving you again, and we will wait upon your return. Sincerely, Henry Ordoñez Manager
5 out of 5
by Wanda

Best hotel!

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Los Balcones was one of the best, friendliest, most interesting hotels we have ever stayed at. After two weeks, we felt like we were leaving family. The hotel is in an old mansion with a wonderful restaurant in the courtyard. We loved the contrast of the colonial style rooms (ours had painted decorations on the walls) and corridors and the ultra modern bathrooms. Breakfast on the third floor veranda was excellent everyday -- don't miss the "torillas de yucca" and the cheese empanadas -- and the hotel restaurant was excellent. It's a short walk to the Central Square and New Cathedral, the River, museums, nightlife, restaurants, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
We appreciate you choosing our hotel, during your stay in the beautiful city of Cuenca. It will be a pleasure serving you again, and we will wait upon your return. Sincerely, Henry Ordoñez Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful small hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 25, 2017
We loved our 4 night in this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was great and it was easy to walk all over Cuenca. It was also easy to hop off the local bus on our way back from the Caja's and just walk down the road to the hotel. $2 taxi ride to airport or bus terminal. My only complaint is that I would have loved a ceiling fan in the room.
5 out of 5
by Yi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Beautiful place to stay

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Hotel is beautiful. Nice clean rooms with excellent remodeled bathroom amenities. Wonderful breakfast included and good options in restaurant for dinner