Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
The Hotel Casa Del Aguila was a nice place to stay in a city I just did not care for. The front desk was helpful on arrival and throughout our three-night stay. The room was a bit tight, though comfortable enough. The internet spotty. Breakfast was good and typical of most offered at similar South American hotels of the same quality. The highlight of the hotel is its beautiful common areas which provided a very relaxing place to hang out while not in the room. The entry door of the hotel is kept locked 24 hours a day, and you must ring a bell and await an employee to open it for you. It can get a little annoying, but I suppose they felt it necessary. The Old Town's architecture was nice, but our experience there was simply spoiled by the overwhelming and unhealthy level of air pollution created by the numerous buses traveling along its streets. In sum, the Hotel Case Del Aguila was a nice, affordable place to stay in a city we just did not care for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Excellent staff

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Room size, cleanliness, colonial charm, staff
Location: Near the San Sebastian plaza and church and the art museum. Not a lot of restaurant options nearby so go several blocks to the main plaza for dining.
The staff were very helpful, professional and courteous. We arrived on an early flight and were allowed to check in at 8:30a. Since we would also be leaving early on our last day, they let us have the complimentary breakfast that first day instead of the last since would be departing to early. There was no hair drier in the room but we borrowed one from the front desk as no extra cost. We got a wake-up call and they arranged a taxi for our early morning departure. The room was quiet largely because there were very few guests, but on the second night a group of excited young Americans were hanging out in the patio and we could hear them in the early evening. Luckily they didn't continue late in to the night, so we can say that our overall experience was quiet and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from toronto

fantastic atmosphere

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: I stated above
Cons: a little bit better seal off door frame. It was cool sometimes
very stylish, renovated in the old, 19 c. style with amazing details. Fantastic atmosphere. Very nice and helpful style. One of the best hotel in my life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gem in Cuenca

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Lovely hotel with simple amenities and yummy breakfast
5 out of 5
by Diane S. from Raleigh, North Carolina

Beautiful, classy hotel at a fantastic price

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels
I loved the location. It was close to the San Sebastian park and an easy walk to Calle Larga. The hotel called a taxi for me more than once and the driver charged a lower rate than just hailing a taxi myself. The provided a nice self-serve breakfast that included eggs, bacon, fruit, cereal, bread, cheese, juice and coffee or tea. I probably missed something, but the fact that it was self-service made it fast, which I really appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yi from Vancouver,Canada

it is a nice hotel near center

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: it is small and confortable , staffs are good.
Cons: they should put the carpet on the floor, it may help to isolating some noise from upstairs.
Location: there have a local market nearby where can buy some local fruits, vegetables with a good price
It is a good place to stay with very helpful staffs. most of them can speak english and is have patient to guide you about the direction and local attractions
4 out of 5
by Victor from Delray Beach Fl.

In the heart of center city

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels
Staff was helpful especially Cynthia. Remaining staff could learn more English. Comfort level of rooms could be improved. Breakfast needed more variety. hotel was very clean and well maintained. You can ask for a discount if u stay more than five nights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice, historic hotel. Very comfortable, close to historic plazas.
5 out of 5
by Bruce from Seattle, WA

Centrally located, great staff, clean and quiet!

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels
Weren't really sure about the place until we got there and then immediately fell in love with "the Eagle". An old place that has been lovingly converted into a very beautiful B&B. Even though located near the center of town and on a very busy street, Mariscal Sucre, it was quiet. The really pleasant part was the staff which was always friendly, helpful, and very courteous. Breakfast was excellent, the room was always clean and promptly cleaned after we left in the morning, and the wifi while marginal in the room (#9) was always good in the business room. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cuenca

Posted Mar 31, 2013
Great hotel, great staff. great area! Lacking a TV........