Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located but pretty run down

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: It is centrally located.
Cons: The overall appearance of the property. Basically everything needs revamping.
Location: Located in downtown Cuenca, close to most sights and to many restaurants.
I stayed at this hotel many years ago, probably some 16 or 18 years ago, back then the property was in a much better shape than what I found this time round. Much money needs to be invested to bring it back to shape; though it is pretty inexpensive, you can opt for more well kept inexpensive places in Cuenca for the same cost.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiesbaden, Germany

Room not avail

Posted Aug 25, 2017
After booking confermation was received, the room was not availible. We had to seek other accommodation at mid night.
5 out of 5
by Jesus J

Great stay in Downtown Cuenca

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was excellent, great location in the heart of downtown Cuenca. I came to the hotel for the great reviews and I wasn't disappointed. The room was spacious with plenty of electrical outlets specially next to the bed on the desklamp to charge and use your phone while laying in bed (big thumbs up for that) The bed was comfortable. My ONLY complaint is the water pressure from the shower it was pretty weak but they did have hot water. I took showers at all hours of the day and hot water was available every time. Airport shuttle was great to have but my morning flight was to early (530am) for the shuttle so they called me a taxi. The taxi ride to the airport is less than $2 very cheap! As for tours I couldn't really say cause I had friends show me around but the hotel can provide you info on where there is a good tour agency to go to. There is a Double decker city tour bus you can take for $8 and it'll take you around Cuenca. They stop at the main plaza which is 2 to 3 blocks from the Hotel. If I come I'll definitely stay here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel el Conquistador Cuenca Ecuador

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
very good and nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cuenca

Too expensive for what it is

Posted Aug 12, 2016
I took this hotel because of the information in Internet but when got there nothing looks like the pictures. Very old dark. Not good
4 out of 5
by Nathan from Clinton Ia

Nice place

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed a week staff was great. Wifi was good but had to get different passwords for each floor and lobby. Breakfast was always good. Very clean and new looking. The city is building tram tracks in front of hotel but didn't bother me. Great band for the buck...
3 out of 5
by terry from Durango CO

Great locatiom

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
great location, good breakfast, helpful service
4 out of 5
by Joseph from Vermont

Great service and a good value hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Location is good being in the center of town but road construction on the road in front of the hotel has been occurring for months and is a bit disruptive especially for both pedestrian and vehicle access to the hotel. The carpets in the hallways and in the room were a bit old and had a unique smell (worn out and old). Staff were extremely helpful in meeting our needs regarding choice of rooms and overall customer service (cleaning breakfast tables fast, providing directions, getting taxis, etc...). I booked this hotel through an internet company and added a specific request on the number of beds needed but apparently this request wasn't received by the hotel. The hotel staff did their best to accommodate our request.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Seattle

Warm and wonderful

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels
Marvelous place, with warm, friendly and helpfull owner and staff. The breakfast was wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from EC

Very noisy

Posted Aug 3, 2014
A ventilation equipment on the celing made so much noise you feel on a plane. It is on until 11 pm