Ratings based on 2,942 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent downtown location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Staff friendly, rooms are comfortable and large, food good, location to downtown sites and restaurants is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First trip to Dallas

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Absolutely lovely hotel. Staff was so kind and hospitable. Hotel was clean and decorated so nicely. Cookies and milk were delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Commitment to Excellent

Posted Oct 3, 2017
First Class Hotel!! They made you feel so special and appreciated and glad that we were there. 5 STARS!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Magnolia Downtown Dallas

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Our first visit to Dallas from Calgary Alberta Canada and we loved the Magnolia Hotel. Perfect location for restaurants and historical sites like Dealey Plaza and the 6th Floor Museum, all within walking distance. Hotel is super clean, smells so good and has character. The milk & cookies was a nice lil treat each night
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Poor customer service at Front Desk

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Train the front desk staff.
Location: Downtown Dallas, close to the Texas State Fair grounds and to Deeper Ellum.
The front desk staff was not helpful at all. They stayed on the phone rather than helping or even acknowledging that I was there. There was no concierge to help with anything. At check-out, they would not acknowledge me about where to check my bag, despite my asking 2 different employees who passed through the lobby. I paid over 5,000 points to be considered a "VIP," but they did not even tell me what services were available-let alone offer me anything that resembled a VIP customer. I specifically asked the person who checked me in if there was anything I needed to no; and she responded no. Apparently, they were supposed to offer cookies & milk at night. While I would have not accepted because I am gluten free, it would have been nice to have been told about the service and where/how to obtain it. Expedia asked about whether I received anything but did not offer to refund the points they took from me for that alleged status. All that being said, the restaurant staff were extremely nice and helpful. The front desk staff could learn something from then.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin texas

Better after changing rooms

Posted Sep 29, 2017
So I had originally booked a signature queen suite. The front desk wanted a room deposit even though Expedia did not disclose any additional fees for the room. That’s on Expedia and they need to do a better job in listing fees. room I was initially given was on the 13th floor. The tile in the kitchen was old and chipped. The room was dreary and the outdated sofa had several stains. I have included photos and believe me when I say the underside of the cushions were worse. I worked at a luxury hotel for several years (the Driskill in Austin TX) so I actually have standards. I called the front desk and was moved to a “corner suite” on floor 15. This room was so much nicer! The furniture was much cleaner and the kitchen was very acceptable too. I’m not sure why they gave me a dumpy room initially since I’d paid in advance and there were obviously better rooms available in the same price tier. That’s just bad business in the hospitality industry. I called for ice since there was no bucket in the room . Jose B. was extremely polite and attentive and was the best employee I dealt with during my stay. Also, although the rooms are Calle “queen suites” neither had a queen size bed. While the suites are huge the bedrooms are average size so a queen bed would really take up too much space. This was a small matter as the corner suite itself was nice and a fair price too. I would go back but only if I was aware of extra fees/ deposits beforehand and was not placed in a dirty old room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Midland, Tx.

Perfect Weekend Getaway

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Valet is very convient, Happy Hour at the bar is always my highlight, but my wife loved the room service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: I love how everything is close by restaurants and museums. No real need to drive anywhere.
My wife and I really loved our experience at this hotel. I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a weekend getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Only small issue was the AC was not as cool as we would have liked. Had maintenance come to room and it was adjusted for a cooler temperature. Outcome was better with it a bit cooler..so over all we were satisfied with the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire UK

Great suite in downtown Dallas character hotel!

Posted Sep 27, 2017
We only stayed one night at the Magnolia but our experience was great. The staff were friendly and our suite was huge, with a full kitchen and sitting area. The hotel is in a great location to walk to bars and restaurants in Downtown area and to visit the JFK memorial. Every evening there are complimentary cookies and milk (or coffee or tea) for guests, a delicious little touch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KS

Great staff, beautiful hotel!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The cleaning crew went above and beyond here! Organizating our stuff and made a cute towel wrap for our toothbrushes. They noticed my comb had broke and left a new one. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location for walking to see downtown. I would highly recommend this place. The staff is great. Love this place!