Ratings based on 2,953 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel in a prime location close to everythin

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Was in Dallas for a buddies wedding. My wife and I decided to extend the trip and we are so glad we did. The magnolia was a great location a $6-$10 Uber ride to anywhere you want to go. Also in walking distance to many of the area attractions. And Murp at the hotel bar was great. The happy hour prices are insanely cheap even though my wife opted for the top shelf booze I had a few absolutes for like $3. Also ordered room service for breakfast and the meal was excellent. If you want coffee probably better off going to the cafe in the lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland Texas

Very worn and dated hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Not the best experience, dated rooms, worn furniture and extremely dated. Been at other properties before this one by far is the most run down. Go stay at the Westin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bedford, MA

Magnolia

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Excellent staff and great service we will continue to stay with Magnolia downtown hotel again very reasonable prices too. Everyone was fantastic and we had a great stay. Thanks for your hospitality
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: front desk help were sweet but incompetent
Cons: EVERYTHING needs improvement, this place should be condemned.
Location: umm...go to the good hotels to the right and left, Adolphus and Joules
Nice friendly people at front desk, but this hotel is a horror show. Perfect timing for Halloween: 1 elevator working out of 7 and 26 stories so you wait 15 minutes each time to get an elevator. Rooms that clank loudly from outdated ventilation systems, no heat in some rooms, dirty, buggy. I switched rooms 3 times on check in - first one was so loud you couldn't hear yourself think, 2nd one had SOMEONE STILL IN IT and third one was dirty, sagging mattress and NO HEAT on a 36 degree day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas.

Historic hotel in downtown Big D

Posted Oct 29, 2017
The decor and architecture of the building give it a unique ambiance. Room was huge and comfortable. Nice amenities but could use a microwave. Was in a great location to walk to great eating establishments and the 6th Floor Museum. Although we didn't shop there were plenty of places within a short walk. Cookies in the evening were great. We also liked the one in Omaha.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Dear Doug, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We pride ourselves in the highest quality service and standards, and work diligently each day to make sure we provide the best experience for our guests. Warm Regards, Gina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, Washington

Beautiful, elegant, affordable downtown hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Cons: Mattress could be improved just with how you can feel movement from another person in the bed.
We have decided that downtown Dallas has the best hotels of anywhere we have stayed. The Magnolia hotel room was so lovely I wish I had an extra day or two to stay there. We had a corner room and the room was so spacious with a unique layout to the room. It was also super quiet! It was an oasis!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We pride ourselves in the highest quality service and standards, and work diligently each day to make sure we provide the best experience for our guests. If your future travels take you to Dallas again, we hope you choose to stay with us. Warm Regards, Gina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Weekend getaway

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Magnolia was perfect! Great location, easy access to everything! They fixed an overlooked issue and we were happy! Chocolate chip cookies at night is the best!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Dear Stacy, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We pride ourselves in the highest quality service and standards, and work diligently each day to make sure we provide the best experience for our guests. If your future travels take you to Dallas again, we hope you choose to stay with us. Warm Regards, Gina
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel in a historic building

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: I liked the location, the history of the building, and the architecture of the building.
Cons: I would brighten the color palette they used to design the rooms. Perhaps other rooms were cool, but mine was quite dreary.
Location: Nearby, there were restaurants, shops, museums, a park, and Dealey Plaza, if you're into that sort of thing.
Magnolia hotel is in a great location in downtown Dallas. It's close to shops, restaurants, museums, and Dealey Plaza. The hotel building used to be Magnolia Oil back in the early 1900s. (Magnolia Oil, became Mobil Oil, and then Exxon Mobil. That's why the red pegasus is everywhere.) My room was spacious, but it struck me as dark because it had dark walls, dark floors, and dark blinds on the windows. Also, there was no view of the city where my room was located. Didn't love the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Dear Doreese, Thank you for staying with us at Magnolia Hotels during your last trip to Dallas and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. Offering exceptional service to our guests is our priority, and your feedback is critical in our effort to continually improve our guest satisfaction. I am grateful that you took the time to identify the areas that were not satisfactory and I can assure you that the issues you brought up will be carefully reviewed with our management and staff in an effort to improve our service. Warm Regards, Gina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent downtown location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Staff friendly, rooms are comfortable and large, food good, location to downtown sites and restaurants is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We pride ourselves in the highest quality service and standards, and work diligently each day to make sure we provide the best experience for our guests. Warm Regards, Gina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First trip to Dallas

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Absolutely lovely hotel. Staff was so kind and hospitable. Hotel was clean and decorated so nicely. Cookies and milk were delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We pride ourselves in the highest quality service and standards, and work diligently each day to make sure we provide the best experience for our guests. Warm Regards, Gina