Ratings based on 1,294 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NSW

Modern, well looked after hotel!

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Great hotel! Roof top pool, gym you can use next door, large rooms, great views, good eats, helpful staff!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staff was extremely friendly, and the hotel was very nice... rooftop "bar" is more of a night club. We were on the 4th floor and could hear the loud music until it closed. When it closed the guests staying around us were extremely loud in their room and hallway. We ended up canceling our second night there and stayed somewhere else. If you are looking for a loud party hotel this place is for you, we were looking for a nice weekend away from home and it was awful for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hôtel n'est downtown

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Clean Room,free parking Nice view on the Roof top for one Nights or more i recommand
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

know what you are getting

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The bed was uncomfortable but the room was very clean. This is a party hotel with amenities and staff that are not always reliable or professional. If you want to sleep do not get an upper floor close to the Soda Bar. Was at the Soda Bar on a quiet night but got pushed out of our place by some publicity even though we were the paying guest. Not very classy. Pool was also very cloudy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tulsa

Something has changed and not for the better...

Posted Aug 2, 2017
This was my 3rd time to stay at the NYLO Southside in 4 years. My first 2 times were fabulous, but this time was extremely disappointing. The service was poor, I'm guessing they are under staffed. I was most shocked by the condition of the rooftop pool area. It was GROSS! The pool chairs were falling apart, the pillows on the outdoor furniture were so nasty that we didn't want to sit on them, and there were hardly any towels for the guests. This use to be a VERY COOL place. I was so disappointed in the condition of things!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: location, strangely enough, and the room.
Cons: a few things.
Location: it's close to a few restaurants and the Alamo Drafthouse movie theater. Close to central downtown on average 1.2 miles. Growing area, but we liked.
Overall nice, needs a few improvements. The staff could be hit and miss, the vibe of the arty hallway a bit ehhh.. seems pre-fabricated, doesn't have an overall authentic look in that sense.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denton, tx

Funky hotel, cool vibe

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We enjoyed our stay! The beds are really comfy, just bring your own pillows unless you like giant fluffy ones. There is a Keurig in the room, which is cool, and if you have an Amazon fire stick you can plug it into the smart TV to watch your shows. I liked the industrial feel, although I'll admit I did kind of miss the coziness of most hotels, which surprised me. The biggest miss was the sliding door to the bathroom, it wouldn't close all the way, which made for some awkward moments! The pool is small, and gets crowded, and there are some creepy looking guys hanging around the bar looking for ladies. Not a family atmosphere by any means, but the view at night is great, and the Painkiller cocktail is yummy. Overall a fun, different place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OKC

Not bad at all but weren't blown away either...

Posted Jul 5, 2017
My wife and I ran down to Dallas for 3 nights, just a quick get-a-way and decided to stay somewhere new (to us anyway) and decided to give NYLO a shot. Staff was incredible, super friendly and very very helpful. Can't say enough good things about all staff members. The hotel itself was just okay. At first glance it all looks great, then the longer you stay the more little things you start to notice (shower curtain not being long or wide enough, iron and ironing board falling apart etc etc) nothing that made us mad or want to leave, just small inconveniences they could work on. The rooftop pool was also awesome, view was super cool of downtown Dallas. They need to paint the deck a lighter color or put out something to walk on, you couldn't walk from the pool to the bar barefoot without burning your feet. Best thing we noticed was close proximity to everything without having to be downtown. If you are looking for something different give it a shot, but wouldn't recommend an extended stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's just ok for me. I didn't like the location .

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Pretty quiet until Saturday night. It was horrible and very loud I didn't get any sleep hardly at all. I wouldn't ever stay there again....
Cons: They could improve inmeties and the noise..,
Location: I hated the location...
I like to have microwave and fridge in the room. They had neither.. the hotel was not what I'm use to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Love the style and atmosphere of the hotel.. it's funky antique furniture gives it a unique flair to it