Ratings based on 3,808 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Comfortable Luxury

Posted Nov 14, 2017
From the moment I stepped out of my car to check in to my departure I was treated like royalty. My every need was taken care of in a quick, quiet and polite way. As I had driven in on I-35 at rush hour my face was still a bit pasty and the staff rushed to ensure everything was being done to make me feel better. It was like being at Momma’s house! Dining and Drinks are such a pleasure st the Adolphus. Every corner is another architectural delight, and the decor design is both breathtaking and whimsical with much thought given to a weary travelers comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Loved the bar next to The French Room. Maria, our server, was exceptional! Michael at the front desk was wonderful too!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Not the best experience

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Nice hotel and staff, room was nice and good views. Easy access to anything in Dallas.
Cons: Check in service, hot water, coffee in room
We arrived at 1:00 (requested early check-in as we had a wedding to attend). The systems had just crashed so we were not able to check in We did not have a place to change or get ready for the wedding. Luckily we saw a friend and were able to use his room. We were able to check in at 10pm after the wedding. The next morning I was going to take a shower - I turned on the shower and waited a few minutes for the water to get hot, but it never did. Apparently the hot water at the hotel was out too. There was also no coffee machine in the room (all other rooms have one). Overall a bit disappointing but would probably stay here again as it it is a nice hotel and historical to Dallas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
We love to stay here. The room is always great and the staff exceed beyond excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Caitlin B., Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We love having you here as well. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Downtown Dallas

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Historic hotel nestled in Downtown Dallas. Staff we encountered we’re friendldy and courteous. A very enjoyable stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Caitlin B., Hotel Management
Thank you Robert! It is great to know that our staff left a memorable impression during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, Texas

Excellent stay minor improvements needed.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Upon arrival the valet were on point with greetings and taking our baggage. Very friendly. Check in was quick and painless. The lobby was beautiful and once we were up the escalators there was a beautiful sitting area and a bar. Very fancy. We ourselves are not fancy yet we were treated just as well as everyone in the suits and cocktail dresses in the hotel. Our room was exquisite! Beautiful room with king size beds and compfy linens. The bathroom was beautiful and lit. We especially liked the oversized full body mirror outside the bathroom. There was a small snack tray and drinks for purchase in the room. The prices were horrible and we did not take anything. It’s upsetting to see a LABLED 35 cent pack of gum being sold for a dollar. Also, I checked the date on a food item being sold and it was expired a month prior to my stay. Other items were still within their sale date. We placed an order for breakfast and although it was delicious it was expensive. 1 adult Belgium waffle with berries no side, 1 two eggs with toast and bacon, 1 kids Belgium waffle (half the size of adult), kids French toast, fruit plate, orange juice and coffee cost $117. We could have gotten the same thing for maybe $40 at IHOP or Waffle House... when we arrived there was some construction going on that was a bit inconvenient.at one point the escalators going up to the elevators stopped working and we had to climb the stairs. My mom has a bad knee and there was no other way to get up but climb stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Great hotel with really nice common areas and really comfortable, spacious rooms. They were remodeling their entrance when we were there which was a little confusing but when it’s done it will be great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Caitlin B., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review! We are almost complete with the front entrance and can't wait to unveil the new drive. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Downtown elegance

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Beautiful Hotel with lots of history. Walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful. The hotel was busy with weddings but we still felt our needs were met. Only issue was some elevator problems but that was only a minor blimp looking at the entire Stay. The rooms are large and the beds were very comfortable and I slept well. Would love to know the brand of pillows on the bed. They were awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elevators need work

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Very stately and fun
Cons: Elevators
Location: Downtown Dallas. Super fun
That is it, the elevators did not function properly, to get up or down was a 10 minute process each time. Not huge deal but you asked:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Just shy of perfect

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Location: Cindie's New York Deli - amazing breakfast in an old-school diner.
We made a quick trip to Dallas from Austin. The hotel was very nice - just as pictured on the website. The valet parking was a challenge in that there is construction right around the hotel and the valet lane is obstructed by that. It seemed to take quite a long time 15 minutes or so to get your car. We mostly walked to the museum and other downtown locations so it wasn't too big of a deal for us. I also read about this in advance and just added in some cushion when we did need to get somewhere. The staff was great. The food and drinks were pricey but adequate - about what you'd expect ($17 for a dressed up old-fashioned with craft whiskey; $4 for some almonds at the bar, etc.). We did not try the French restaurant so I can't comment on that. The room was cool (individual temperature control), dark and quiet. The beds, pillows, and bedding were wonderful. There were a few hairs on our sink when we arrived and some leftover makeup smudges on the mini lotion bottle. Also, there was some red mold in the grout at the bottom of the shower. Even with these things, overall the room was clean and comfortable. Yes, the elevators are small and you sometimes have to wait a bit - but it's an old, old building. There was also a window in the foray of the 22nd floor absolutely drenched with water (the window sill, the window treatment, the floor below) even though it wasn't raining. It looked like an old problem based on the rust bleeding from the curtain rod.