Ratings based on 1,071 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Romantic anniversary getaway

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Lovely hotel with exquisite antique furnishings and fixtures. Very friendly and accommodating staff. We were provided an upgrade to a suite upon mentioning that it was our 18 year anniversary. The dining was amazing at the ship tavern, the trout done perfectly and service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Everyone on staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! It was such a great stay! A great way to celebrate anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's the Brown.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
I took my wife for a decadent overnight stay. We went from our 1891 house to an 1892 hotel. This place oozes history and the service is excellent. The rooms are from a different era but it all comes together in an elegant way. The bed could have a little bit better for the price of stay but we slept wonderfully. I recommend this hotel for something special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Comfortable and easy to get around. It would be nice if the decorations were interfaith.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Definitely not worth it.

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: The decorations, the charm of its architecture, the vast majority of the staff.
Cons: Their business philosophy
Location: Downtown Denver has restaurants for EVERY taste and budget. You can walk to museums, movies, and shops.
Room chair badly worn. Shower handle ready to come off. Thermostat can't be adjusted properly, and no "on-off" switch. Management made NO effort to quiet the loud guests and party-goers, even after 11:00 at night, and the noise is so loud in the individual rooms that you will not be able to sleep. We tried to use the complimentary limousine to go to a nearby restaurant, but the front desk personnel could not make contact with the driver. On another night, the Concierge did not make our dinner reservation correctly, so we had no reservation when we got to "The Ship's Tavern". We were charged for a Sunday brunch when all we had was orange juice. Also, at those prices, even the most ordinary motel includes some form of "continental breakfast". There are several "special occasion destination hotels" in Denver that give value and service for your money -- this is not one of them. DEFINITELY not one of them. We will not be back, nor will we recommend The Brown Palace to acquaintances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Anniversary celebration

Posted Nov 27, 2017
We stay here at least once a year if not more just to feel pampered and this time was no exception! This was our 51st anniversary and we wanted to feel special and we did!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Spectacular historic hotel in downtown Denver

Posted Nov 20, 2017
This hotel was absolutely stunning with so many of the original architectural features. The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend The Brown Palace to anyone staying in the Denver area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Greta Hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2017
I thought this was a great Hotel. Bathrooms need an update, but all older properties lack in bathroom size. I would stay there again. The staff and the property was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from COLORADO

CLASSY HOTEL IN DOWNTOWN DENVER

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great vibes
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Beautiful hotel with a few exceptions

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: It was like going back in time. Loved the look of the hotel. Housekeeping staff was very nice and the doormen and bell hops were top notch.
Cons: We asked for a roll away bed before we headed out for the day. Had to call down and ask for it again. Also had a bag of dirty towels left in our room
Location: Went to Mizunas and Elways for Dinner. Saw the Giants beat the Broncos
We stayed for four days to visit my grown sons. We had gone to the Sunday Brunch in past visits and thought it would be a nice place to stay. Its a beautiful hotel and for the most part we really liked it with a few exceptions. I hate to say one person can ruin a visit but it can happen. They have a nice whiskey and cigar bar at the hotel and I was excited to have a scotch and cigar with my wife and two boys. The first night it was closed for a private party. The next night we stopped by and the place was packed. A young couple went in right before us and walked right in. We were stopped by the host and told us they had no tables. I asked if there was a wait and he said it was waiting list only. I asked how long for a table and he said at least 45 minutes. He never offered to take our name or offer to add our name to any list. He acted like he wanted us leave and seemed put out that we wanted to come in. I left frustrated and disappointed. The next night I looked down from our floor and the place was packed but they had put extra chairs and tables in the lobby of the bar for the overflow. I guess we weren't important enough. A very nice hotel ruined by one employee who could have handled the situation much better. I wont stay here on my next visit in December.